Bangladesh Squad Announced for the 2024 Men's T20 World Cup | Shanto to lead Bangladesh in T20-WC
Bangladesh | Pic: ICC

After securing a dominating 4-1 home T20i series win against Zimbabwe, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced Bangladesh Men’s Cricket Team’s 15 – player squad for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup.

Najmul Hossain Shanto, who was appointed as the all format skipper of the Bangla Tigers earlier this year will be handling the leadership duties in the 2024 T20 World Cup and fast bowler Taskin Ahmed has been appointed as the vice captain.

The squad also consists of veteran all – rounder Shakib Al Hasan who recently made his return to the shortest format of the game after a span of nearly one year. Shakib was also a part of Bangladesh’s squad for the final two T20 International games against Zimbabwe and he had a great outing with the ball in the fourth game, picking up a crucial four wicket hall.

The decision of appointing Taskin Ahmed as the vice captain comes as a huge surprise. The 29 year old has been playing International Cricket for the Bangla Tigers since 2014 but his career has been hampered by injuries. Taskin was the player of the series in the recently concluded Zimbabwe series where he managed to pick up eight scalps in four matches.

Bangladesh’s squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup is a good mixture of experienced season campaigners and dynamic youngsters. Mohammad Saifuddin who was a part of the squad for the Zimbabwe series has not been included in the World Cup squad while spin bowling all rounder Afif Hossain is a part of the traveling reserves.

Soumya Sarkar and Litton Das
Bangladesh Squad Announced for the 2024 Men's T20 World Cup | Shanto to lead Bangladesh in T20-WC 2

The batting of the Najmul Hossain Shanto led team is looking really strong as the duo of Soumya Sarkar and Litton Das will be handling the opening duties while the middle order will comprise of the experienced players Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto and Towhid Hridoy.

Hard hitting youngster Jaker Ali is having a good time with the bat and is anticipated to be the backup wicketkeeper for the Bangla Tigers.

Mustafizur Rahman and vice captain Taskin Ahmed will be handling the fast bowling duties while leg spinner Rishad Hossain and off spinner Mahedi Hasan will provide a lot of variety to skipper Shanto in the spin bowling department.

Bangladesh Full Squad for 2024 T20 World Cup

Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Travelling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud

CHECK: Australian Justin Langer “Curious and Fascinated” to replace Rahul Dravid as Team India’s next coach

For More Visit Official Site of ICC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here