Australia’s Squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Complete Team

Australia’s Squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Complete Team

Cricket Australia (CA) on Thursday announced Australia’s squad for the upcoming showpiece event, ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The cricket board in its 15 men squad has recalled leading batters Steve Smith and David Warner along with paceman Pat Cummins for the tournament, set to be staged in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Australia is the second team after New Zealand to announce its T20 World Cup 2021 squad two months prior to the start of the tournament.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is scheduled to begin on 17 October however the first match of the Super 12s will be held on 23rd October. Australia’s first match is scheduled against South Africa on 23rd October in Abu Dhabi.

As a surprise element in the squad, batter Josh Inglis has been added to the squad. The cricketer will provide backup for wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade.

  Hosting Rights/Countries of ICC tournaments from 2024-2031 announced, India get 3 tournaments

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket,” Bailey said.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counter-attacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Australia’s Steve Smith Likely To Play The Vivo IPL 2021

Australia’s Squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh is also included in the T20 World Cup squad. Marsh recently had a sensational tour of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis are also called back for the flagship event of the ICC.

  ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Super 12s: Australia vs South Africa Prediction, Dream11 Fantasy Tips, Preview, Probable Playing11

It is noteworthy that a few star players have been rested by the Australian management due to the upcoming Ashes 2021-22.

George Bailey, who recently took the role of Chief National Selector, believes that the named squad consists of all ingredients required for a T20 team.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” said selector George Bailey in a team release. “We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.”

Australia’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Inglis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya Can Take A Game Away In Just Seconds, Says Dinesh Karthik