Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeCricket NewsAustralia vs...

Australia vs India: The Indian team is in a solid position because of Rahane and Thakur’s 100 Run Partnership


Australia vs India: India and Australia are playing in the World Test Championship 2023 championship game at the Neutral Oval Stadium. The Australian team scored 469 runs in the first innings after India’s skipper Rohit Sharma choose to bowl first after winning the toss.

The start of the Indian team, which came to bat after 469 runs in the very first innings of the Australian team, was not special. Captain Rohit Sharma scored only 15 runs, IPL’s most promising player Shubham Gill 13 runs, Test cricket expert Cheteshwar Pujara scored only 14 runs and Indian team’s ex-captain Virat Kohli could score only 14 runs.

Where all the fans felt that the Indian team would not be able to score even 200 runs, Ajinkya Rahane and Shardul Thakur did wonders in front of the same bowling attack. So far there has been a partnership of 108 runs between these two batsmen. The best part is that this 108 came in just 133 balls.

Ajinkya Rahane, returning to international cricket after 18 months, is unbeaten on 89 runs with the help of 11 fours and a six in balls. At the same time, Shardul Thakur is also batting on 36 runs in 83 balls with four fours. At the time of writing this article, the Indian team’s score is 260 runs for the loss of six wickets in 60 overs. The Indian team is still 209 runs behind the first innings score of the Australian team.

Indian Team Scorecard

Rohit Sharma (c)15262057.69
Shubman Gill 13152086.66
Cheteshwar Pujara 14252056.00
Virat Kohli 14312045.16
Ajinkya Rahane*8912211172.95
Ravindra Jadeja 48517194.11
Srikar Bharat 5150033.33
Shardul Thakur*36834043.37

READ – Watch: Mohd Siraj throws the ball at Steve Smith out of frustration in WTC Final Day 2

Australia vs India Playing 11

Australia: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland

India: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (c), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Bookmarked post
Aryan Thakur
Aryan Thakur
Aryan, cricket lover, writes on ICC Cricket Schedule. His articles cover cricket news, match analysis, and fantasy cricket tips, entertaining and informing fans.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS