Australia vs India 2nd Test Day 2 Highlights: Ajinkya Rahane completes his test ton

Australia vs India 2nd Test Day 2 Highlights; Ajinkya Rahane completes his test ton.

Australia vs India 2nd Test Day 2 Highlights: Stand-in skipper’s top-notch unbeaten innings of 104 put the visitors high on the test campaign after a frustrating defeat in the first game. Ajinkya Rahane’s under-pressure innings against the brilliant bowling unit proved India is no less even if Virat Kohli is not with the team.

Day 2 ended as India scored a total of 277 runs for five wickets taking up the lead of 82 runs against the mighty Australians. It was a rough day for the bowlers of the hosts as they managed to pick just four scalps and missed some of the close chances to dismiss the stand-in skipper.

Debutant Shubman Gill scored brilliant 45 runs before moving back to the pavilion on Day 2. Rishabh Pant and Hanuma Vihari both controlled the innings well against the moving ball to stitch a good partnership with Rahane.

Pant scored 29 runs while Vihari ended on 21 runs. Ravindra Jadeja and Ajinkya Rahane both fired at the Australian’s world-class bowling and kept the scoreboard rotating. In the meantime, the duo completed their 100 runs stand and took India to a good lead of 82 runs at the end of Day 2.

After the new ball, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins made some chances to dismiss skipper Rahane, however, few dropped chances made the day worst for the bowlers.

India will resume on 277 on Day 3 with Ajinkya Rahane and Ravindra Jadeja batting. Jadeja facing over 100 balls and scored ten short of his half-century.

While Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins got two wickets each. Nathon Lyon got one on his bag.

Australian squad for 2nd Test:

Matthew Wade, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Indian Squad for 2nd Test:

Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

ALSO READ: Surya Kumar Yadav to lead Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021
New Zealand vs Pakistan: Shaheen Afridi feels frustrated after missed chances