Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeCricket NewsAsia Cup...

Asia Cup 2023: BCCI Announces a Strong 17- Members Squad for the Asia Cup 2023, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer has been included in the squad


Asia Cup 2023: BCCI Announces a Strong 17- Members Squad for the Asia Cup 2023; KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have been included in the squad: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announces the Team India Squad for the Asia Cup 2023, Tilak Verma has been included in the squad with KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer.

The squad is a mix of experienced and young players, focusing on players who are in good form. The Key Players are Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah, whereas youngsters like Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, and Tilak Verma got selected for the upcoming Asia Cup.

Sanju Samson has been included as a reserved player for the Asia Cup 2023, whereas there is no place for Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal in the team for the marquee event. KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer are fully fit for the tournament, and Suryakumar is an obvious choice for the selectors.

The defending champions are Sri Lanka, who won the Asia Cup 2022 in UAE and have won the title 4 times, whereas India has won the Asia Cup 5 times. Team India needs to win the trophy and make a proper playing11 before ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

The 16th edition of the Asia Cup will be played in One Day Internationals (ODIs). It will be jointly hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The tournament will be played between six teams. The tournament is scheduled to be held from 30 August to 17 September 2023. The matches will be played at the following venues:

  •  National Stadium, Karachi, Pakistan

  •  R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka

  •  Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele, Sri Lanka

KL Rahul is carrying a niggle, but he is expected to be fully fit for the opening match of the Asia Cup, whereas other players are fully fit, especially Yorker King Jasprit Bumrah, who has bowled well in the Ireland Tour.

Asia Cup 2023: Team India Squad:

Team India Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson (Reserved).

Read This Also: NZ vs UAE 2023: New Zealand Won the T20I series against UAE by 2-1 after defeating them in Third T20I by 32 runs

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Bookmarked post
Amit Patel
Amit Patel
Amit Patel is a cricket writer on ICC Cricket Schedule website. He loves cricket and writes about it. His articles cover cricket news, match analysis, and fantasy cricket tips.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS