Asia Cup 2022 India Squad, Schedule, Match List, Format, Date, Live Telecast & Broadcast

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad, Schedule, Match List, Format, Date, Live Telecast & Broadcast: The fifteenth edition of the Asia Cup 2022 is slated to commence on August 27 while the tournament’s summit clash is scheduled on September 11. The six-team competition will be critical for all the participating teams as it would give a clear indication of how the respective side would perform on the world stage in the T20 World Cup 2022.

Social media has been set abuzz by the fans with their discussions and chatter around the tournament. The excitement has crossed boundaries, especially for the India-Pakistan fixture.

The schedule for the Asia Cup 2022 has already been announced by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). The entire competition will be staged in the UAE, however, the hosting rights will be retained by Sri Lanka

The decision to shift Asia Cup 2022 from Sri Lanka to the UAE came after the former cricket board chose to postpone its flagship T20 league (Lanka Premier League) due to ongoing political unsettlement in the country.

Six teams will participate in the tournament. While five teams will get a ticket for direct qualification, one fringe Asian side will have to play the qualifying stage and join the other five teams.

This article will lead you through Asia Cup 2022 India Squad, Schedule, Match List, Format, Date, Live Telecast & Broadcast.

Asia Cup 2022 Teams:

As many as six teams will participate in the Asia Cup 2022. As mentioned above, while five teams will get a direct qualification, one team from Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and UAE will join the five direct qualifiers after competing in the qualifying round and winning it.

The five direct qualifiers are – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule:

Who will win India vs Pakistan Asia Cup 2022 clash? Ricky Ponting answers
India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE | Reuters Image

The Asia Cup 2022 is set to begin on August 27 with host Sri Lanka playing against Afghanistan. Meanwhile, the most-anticipated India vs Pakistan fixture will be held on August 28. The final of the tournament will be held on September 11 in the Dubai International Stadium.

DateMatchVenueTime IST
Aug 27Sri Lanka vs AfghanistanDubai7:30 PM 
Aug 28India vs PakistanDubai7:30 PM 
Aug 30Bangladesh vs AfghanistanSharjah7:30 PM 
Aug 31India vs QualifierDubai7:30 PM 
Sep 1Sri Lanka vs BangladeshDubai7:30 PM 
Sep 2Pakistan vs QualifierSharjah7:30 PM 
Sep 3B1 vs B2Sharjah7:30 PM 
Sep 4A1 vs A2Dubai7:30 PM 
Sep 6A1 vs B1Dubai7:30 PM 
Sep 7A2 vs B2Dubai7:30 PM 
Sep 8A1 vs B2Dubai7:30 PM 
Sep 9B1 vs A2Dubai7:30 PM 
Sep 11FinalDubai7:30 PM

Asia Cup 2022 Format:

This edition’s Asia Cup 2022 is set to be played in the T20 format due to the approaching mega ICC event. In the wake of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Down Under, the officials have decided to host the Asia Cup 2022 in the T20 Format. The last time Asia Cup was held in the T20 format was back in 2016. 

Team India are the defending champions of the tournament and are the most crowned side in the Asia Cup.

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2022: Top 5 Batters to Watch Out for at Asia Cup 2022. 

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad:

India vs West Indies last two T20Is to go as per schedule after players attain their travel documents
Image: AFP

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (vc), R Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, R Jadeja, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.

Pakistan Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah, Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Usman Qadir.

Read more: ASIA CUP 2022: Shaheen Afridi is Being Ruled Out of The Upcoming Asia Cup 2022. A huge blow for Pakistan.

Afghanistan Squad: Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Afsar Zazai (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran (vc), Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Hazratullah Zazai, and Samiullah Shinwari. 

Reserves: Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf

Bangladesh Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Nasum Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Mahedi Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed

NOTE: Sri Lanka is yet to announce its squad for the Asia Cup 2022.

Asia Cup 2022 Live Telecast & Broadcasting Details:

CountryLive Telecast and Broadcast Channels
IndiaStar Sports network
PakistanPTV Sports and Ten Sports
BangladeshGazi TV (GTV)
Australia and New ZealandYupp TV
South AfricaSuperSport network
The USA and UKHotstar 
Middle EastOSN Sports Cricket

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2022: Indian team is playing differently from the last time we played Pakistan: Rohit Sharma