World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table (Updated) ahead of Australia tour of India 2023 | Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023
World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table (Updated) ahead of Australia tour of India 2023

World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table: The South Africa tour of Australia worked as the catalyst for many recent alterations to the WTC points table. South Africa was in second place and is now fourth and India was in fourth and now is in second position. The following major improvement in India’s point standing came during its tour of Bangladesh. Currently, Australia and India are leading the ICC World Test Championship point standings.

Australia is on a visit to India for a 3-match ODI series and a 4-match test series, also known as the Border Gavaskar Trophy. The outcome of these four test matches will determine whether India advances to the ICC World Test Championship final, making these matches crucial for the Indian team.

India-Australia Border Gavaskar Trophy to be expanded to five test matches in next FTP cycle
Source: AP

Australia is touring India for a 4-match test series AKA Border Gavaskar Trophy and 3-match ODI series. These four test matches are the most important for the Indian side as the result of these will decide whether India is playing ICC World Test Championship final.

Australia have played 5 test series where they played 15 matches and out of which they have won 10 and lost just 1 with 4 being drawn. India, on the other hand, also have played 5 series where they played 14 matches which include 8 wins, 4 losses and 2 being drawn.

Australia are at the top spot with 136 points and 75.56 percentage points whereas India is standing in second position with 99 points and 58.93 percentage points. Sri Lanka is at the third position with 53.33 percentage points.

World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table (Updated)

3SRI LANKA53.336454150
4SOUTH AFRICA48.727666150
6WEST INDIES40.91544525-2
8NEW ZEALAND27.273626350

Qualification scenario for World Test Championship(WTC) final

For a ticket to the WTC final, South Africa, Australia, India, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka are still in the race. The top two teams in the rankings will face off in the ICC World Test Championship final. Each of these has one more series left before the season is done. South Africa will host their final series against the West Indies at home from February 28 to March 12. If the Proteas win that series 2-0, they will have 55.56% of the points.

Then, South Africa would have to hope that New Zealand defeated Sri Lanka and Australia beat India in their forthcoming four-match series. The Proteas team will continue to finish second overall in such a scenario.

India’s qualification scenario for the WTC final:

1- If India Win Broder Gavaskar Trophy by 3-1 or 3-0: India will qualify without depending on others.

2- If India Win 2 Tests in Broder Gavaskar Trophy and New Zealand win/draw 1 out of 2 Tests Vs Sri Lanka.

3- India can still qualify if they lose Broder Gavaskar Trophy by 1-2: If West Indies win or draw 1 out of 2 Tests Vs South Africa and New Zealand win 1 Test vs Sri Lanka.

READ: INDvsAUS Test: Jasprit Bumrah resume bowling at NCA, likely to comeback in India vs Australia 3rd Test

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.