ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Who Will Win The T20 World Cup 2022
Image: ICC

T20 World Cup 2021 Prize Money: The, last night, concluded ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2021 had plenty of drama and uncertainties around it. The tournament went exactly the opposite of what was thought by the fans and the pundits prior to the start of the event.

The fan favourite team, India, that had the most likeliness to lift the T20 World Cup 2021 title failed to reach even in Super 4 stage. Also, the other teams that were in close contention such as England and Pakistan were thrown out of the competition in the semi-final stage after doing exceedingly well in the Group stages, a few nights ago.

The final of the T20 World Cup 2021 was set to be played between New Zealand and Australia after both teams showed grit and guts to defy the odds and move forth in the tournament. Even the cricketing pundits heaped praises on the two sides for their brilliant display of performances and leadership to reach the final stage.

New Zealand vs Australia Final:

As expressed earlier, toss has a huge significance when you play a game of cricket in Dubai. Dew pours in during the later phase of the match, making things quite complicated for the team bowling in the second innings.

Something similar happened with New Zealand, last night. Aaron Finch, the Australian skipper, won the flip of a coin and decided to bowl first in order to remove the uncertainties revolving around the few factor.

Australia were all through the game in the first 10 overs putting the kiwis in the backseat. New Zealand was almost out of the final race in those overs, however, the best of Classical Kane Williamson came at the right time. As they say, “cometh the hour, cometh the man,” Williamson has proved it right.

The kiwi skipper dragged his team into the game as he went after the Aussie bowling attack. Williamson mustered 85 runs from 48 deliveries with the help of 10 boundaries and three sixes.

Owing to the fantastic effort from Williamson, the kiwis were able to put up a total of 172 runs in 20 overs. Besides Williamson, Martin Guptil scored 28 runs, Daryl Mitchell scored 11, Glenn Phillips contributed with 18 runs while James Neesham and Tim Siefert remained unbeaten on 13 and 8 respectively.

In pursuit of the 172 runs total and a prestigious T20 title, the Aussie lost its skipper early as Trent Boult provided a breakthrough. However, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh were right up there in the middle to handle the situation and lead their team to a comfortable score before losing another wicket.

ALSO READ: VVS Laxman to be appointed head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA) Bangalore

Warner’s wicket was the second and the last wicket Australia lost before they end up lifting the ICC trophy. David Warner scored 53 runs while Mitch Marsh and Glenn Maxwell remained unbeaten at 77 and 28 runs respectively. Australia won the final clash by eight wickets with 1.1 over to spare.

Mitchell Marsh was adjudged as the Man of the Match for his match-winning 77 runs knock in the final.

Down below is the list of total prize money earned by Australia, New Zealand, India, England, Pakistan and other teams after the conclusion of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Total Prize Money earned in T20 World Cup 2021 by each Cricket Board:

TeamPrize Money (INR)Position
Australia13.1 CroresWinner
New Zealand7.15 CroresRunner Ups
Pakistan4.5 CroresSemifinalists
England4.2 CroresSemifinalists
Sri Lanka2.02 CroresSuper 12 
South Africa1.72 CroresSuper 12 
India1.42 CroresSuper 12 
Namibia1.42 CroresSuper 12 
Scotland1.42 CroresSuper 12 
Bangladesh1.12 CroresSuper 12 
Afghanistan1.12 CroresSuper 12 
West Indies82 Lakhs Super 12 
Oman60 LakhsRound 1
Ireland60 LakhsRound 1
Papua New Guinea30 LakhsRound 1
Netherlands30 LakhsRound 1

*The prize money listed here is the total amount that will be given to each cricket board. This includes the prize for reaching a certain stage (eg. Super 12s) and money earned by winning a match.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Big 3 Players Chennai Super Kings (CSK) might release ahead of IPL 2022