ICC WTC: Team India’s first group training session ahead of WTC final, see pictures

India vs England test series: No warm-up games for Team India ahead of India-England test series, 2 warm-up games at Durham

ICC WTC: Team India’s first group training session ahead of WTC final, see pictures.

ICC WTC: The Indian contingent of 20 members on Thursday carried out their mixed training session for the first time after landing in Southampton. The session was held after five days of soft quarantine in which the players trained individually and in small groups of three to four members.

Team India will face New Zealand in the final of the ICC World Test Championship final, starting June 18 in Ageas Bowl Southampton.

The Indian cricket team social handles posted a video featuring Indian cricketers having their intense sessions with bat and ball. Players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant and Cheteshwar Pujara spent a considerable amount of time with willow in hand.

  T20 World Cup 2021: Team India has the skill but lacks strong mental toughness: Gautam Gambhir
ICC WTC: Team India’s first group training session ahead of WTC final, see pictures

The bowlers too had their training sessions. Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin were seen practicing in the video shared.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Won’t Comment On Eoin Morgan’s Tweet Controversy Says KKR CEO Venky Mysore

“We have had our first group training session and the intensity was high #TeamIndia’s preparations are on in full swing for the #WTC21 Final,” wrote the BCCI in a twitter post along with a video of training sessions.

Post the net sessions, cricketers went for the fielding practice with coach R Sridhar. 

  India vs New Zealand 1st T20I Prediction, Dream11 Fantasy, Playing11, Pitch Report

In the coming days, the intensity of training will go higher as the summit clash comes closer. 

Indian squad for ICC WTC FInal:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha.

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021 Confirmed, League To Restart On Sep19, Final On Oct15: BCCI Vice President