India's T20 World Cup Squad Updates, Key Selections and Important Details
Getty Images

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri named his two x-factors for India in the T20 WC 2024. He believes that both Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shivam Dube will be key for team in the tournament as they will play fearless cricket

The T20 WC 2024 is all set to take place from 1st June in the Caribbean and the United States of America. India has named their squad for the tournament and they would be keen to clinch their first-ever ICC title since 2013. 

The squad in India looks pretty balanced with Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav being the top 4. Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson are the two keepers in the team whereas Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube and Ravindra Jadeja are all-rounders. 

In the bowling department, India has Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav as two leg-spinners. They have named three pacers in the team for the T20 WC Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj

Ravi Shastri believes that  Yashasvi Jaiswal will be the one x-factor for India because he plays fearless cricket and will play his shots irrespective of the conditions. Speaking to ICC, he stated: 

Also Read: WATCH: Team India launch T20 World Cup Jersey, Jersey Release Video

“The two gentlemen you’ve got to watch out for, and both are left-handers, both playing their first World Cup One is (Yashasvi) Jaiswal. We know a lot about him, he did extremely well against England, explosive at the top of the order, left-hander, he’s young, he’s fearless and he’ll play shots.”

Talking about Shivam Dube, Ravi Shastri stated that the batter hits sixes for fun and believes that if India is in trouble, he can change the course of the game in 20 balls. He added: 

“But there’s someone in the middle order, please watch out for (him), because he is explosive, he’s devastating and he’s a match-winner. He hits sixes for fun, and when it comes to spin bowling, he can kill you. I think he holds the key at that number five, number six position because if you’re on the doldrums, you want someone to change it in 20-25 balls, he’s the player to go to.”

India squad for the T20 WC 2024

India Squad For T20 World Cup 2024 Announced, NO Place For KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya Returns as Vice Captain
India Squad For T20 World Cup 2024 Announced (Image- Scorenow)

Here’s India’s squad for the T20 WC 2024

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here