RSA vs IND, 2nd Test Live: Indian bowlers all out South South for just 55 runs; Mohammed Siraj took six wickets
Team India | Pic: X ( BCCI )

RSA vs IND, 2nd Test Live: The second match of the two-match Test series between South Africa and India is in progress. This match is being played at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town, where Proteas captain Dean Elgar won the toss and decided to bat first. In reply, the Indian bowlers all-out the African team for 55 runs in just 23.2 overs

In the absence of Temba Bavuma, the responsibility of the South African team in the second test match fell on the shoulders of Dean Elgar, who is playing his last test match. While batting first, all the home team batsmen were seen kneeling in front of the Indian fast bowlers. Wicketkeeper batsman Kyle Verreynne scored the most runs for the team; he played a crucial knock of 15 runs in 30 balls.

South Africa Batting Scorecard

Aiden Markram 2100020.00
Dean Elgar (c)4150026.66
Tony de Zorzi 2170011.76
Tristan Stubbs 3110027.27
David Bedingham 12172070.58
Kyle Verreynne15301050.00
Marco Jansen 03000.00
Keshav Maharaj 3130023.07
Kagiso Rabada 5130038.46
Nandre Burger 4111036.36
Lungi Ngidi 0000

Mohammed Siraj took six wickets

Aiden Markram was shown the way to the pavilion by Indian fast bowler Muhammad Siraj, who prevented any African batsman from standing in front of him. Dean Elgar, the winner of the last game, was then sent off. Next, Siraj fired Marco Jansen, David Bedingham, Tony de Zorzi, Tristan Stubbs, and Kyle Verreynne. When Mohammad Siraj dismissed six batsmen in the opening session, he achieved an important milestone.

Mohammad Siraj has claimed five wickets in a Test innings for the third time. He had only taken five wickets five times prior to this. However, this is Siraj’s best home performance against Africa to date. In Brisbane in 2021, Siraj had earlier claimed five wickets for 73 runs while playing Australia. In contrast, he took 5 wickets for 60 runs against the West Indies last year in 2023.

Apart from Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah and Mukesh Kumar both got two wickets, while Prasidh Krishna bowled four overs but did not get even a single success.

South Africa Playing 11: Dean Elgar (c), Tony de Zorzi, Aiden Markram, Tristan Stubbs, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Burger, and Lungi Ngidi

India Playing 11: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Prasidh Krishna

Read: Check the latest ICC Test Players Ranking: Batsmen, Bowlers and All-Rounders | ICC Test Players Ranking 2024

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates.