Rohit Sharma to be felicitated by MCA for becoming India’s all-format captain
Image: PTI

Rohit Sharma to be felicitated by MCA for becoming India’s all-format captain.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has made up its mind to felicitate veteran cricketer Rohit Sharma for becoming India’s all-format captain. Sharma was handed over the reins of India’s limited-overs side, last year, after Virat Kohli stepped down from the T20I captaincy, while the cricketer was recently appointed India’s Test captain.

Rohit Sharma will lead the team India for the very first time in the forthcoming two test matches against Sri Lanka. The first test is scheduled to be held in Mohali, which is apparently Virat Kohli’s 100th test appearance, while the test red ball game is slated to be held in Bangaluru.

MCA’s decision to honour Rohit Sharma came during the Apex Council meeting of the Mumbai Cricket officials held on Thursday. Besides Rohit, the officials have also decided to felicitate Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, and Sarfaraz Khan along with young U19 batter Angkrish Raghuvanshi, who was instrumented in India’s recent ICC U19 World Cup 2022 victory against England.

Raghuvanshi was the highest run-getter for team India with 278 runs from six innings. The youngster maintained a healthy average of 46.33 and helped India win its fifth ICC U19 World Cup in 2022. Angkrish stands at fifth position in the overall run-getters chart.

ALSO READ: Delhi Capitals (DC) Playing11 for IPL 2022, Players List and Squad

“In today’s Apex Council Meeting decision passed Rohit Sharma will be felicitated for becoming captain of all three formats. Angkrish Raghuvanshi will be felicitated by MCA with a cash prize of Rs one lakh and momento,” a MCA Apex Council was quoted as saying by The Indian Express.

The felicitation ceremony will be organised next month before the start of the Tata IPL 2022. The fifteenth edition of the IPL will begin on March 26, confirms the Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman on Thursday.

A total of 74 matches will be held in the entire tournament with 70 games to be hosted in Maharashtra. For the last four playoff games, the teams are likely to set up their bases in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ: Tata IPL 2022 to start on March 26, league to be held in Maharashtra