RCB captain IPL 2022. IPL teams and their captain in IPL 2022 Complete List

RCB Playing11 for IPL 2022, Players List, Complete Squad: The Royal Challengers Bangalore had a mixed mega auction held recently ahead of the upcoming Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. The franchise bought a total of 19 players during the two-day event, held in Bangaluru, which is the second-lowest amongst the ten IPL teams.

The franchise spend a total of INR 88.45 Crores in building up a strong squad, including the three retained cricketers. The Bangalore based T20 franchise retained the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli and Mohammad Siraj as their top three player retentions.

Though, RCB was centred with a lot of flak from the fans for their poor auction strategy owing to which the franchise had to pick a couple of overpriced players. A few players who could be retained at a cheaper cost were bought in the auction room for a hefty price tag.

Besides this, RCB have acquired a couple of fantastic cricketers from all around the world. All in all, the team in red and black managed to construct a balanced squad that is filled with enough experience and talent.

The Royals managed to fetch Faf du Plessis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Josh Hazlewood and several other players. However, they will miss the services of Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal who have now parted ways with the RCB and will play for some other teams.

Ahead of the IPL 2022, RCB will have to figure out the candidate to lead the side. There are a few options available with the franchise. The likes of Faf du Plessis, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik are a couple of options with the franchise. Meanwhile, the reports have suggested that South African batsman Faf du Plessis is the frontrunner to take up charge of the Bangalore based IPL team.

In this article, we will lead you through the best possible RCB Playing11 for the Tata IPL 2022 along with Complete Squad and Players List for the fifteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

RCB Complete Squad and Players List IPL 2022:

Virat Kohli, Chama Millind, Glenn Maxwell, Karn Sharma, Jason Behrendorff, Mohammad Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Mahipal Lomror, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Siddharth Kaul, Josh Hazlewood, Suyash Prabhudessai, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Fin Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Aneeshwar Gautam, Luvnith Sisodia, David Willey.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: IPL 2022 Retained Players for MI, CSK, RCB, KKR, PBKS, RR, SRH, DC

RCB Playing11 for IPL 2022:

No matter du Plessis receive captaincy or not, the South African batsman will be the first choice opener for RCB in the IPL 2022. Du Plessis’ previous records are more than sufficient to fetch him a place in the playing11. The cricketer was a consistent performer for Chennai Super Kings in the last two seasons. He is also the sixth-highest run-getter in the IPL amongst overseas players.

IPL 2022: Ajit Agarkar advises easy solution to RCB’s captaincy puzzle in IPL 2022
Image Source: IPL/Twitter

RCB will pair him along with Virat Kohli. The former RCB skipper will probably open the innings once again. Kohli will be the batsman to take his time and explode in the latter part of the innings, while du Plessis will fire in the initial overs to provide a good start.

Virat Kohli extensively used domestic options in Rajat Patidar and Srikar Bharat at number 3 in the IPL 2021, the same would be done this time as well with Anuj Rawat and Mahipal Lomror on the side. Either of the two aforementioned batsmen will be given an opportunity to form RCB’s top order.

RCB Playing11 for IPL 2022, Players List, Complete Squad

Australian spin-bowling all-rounder will be at number 4. Maxwell is a flexible option for RCB and can bat anywhere. The cricketer provided commendable support to the top order in the IPL 2021, while also fired in the slog overs. He will be the one who would take RCB further in the game, once the platform will be laid down by the top order.

RCB roped in wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik in the IPL 2022 Auctions. The franchise will place Dinesh Karthik at number 5 in the pecking order. Karthik along with Glenn Maxwell will try to score as many runs as possible in the death overs. 

Shahbaz Nadeem might follow Dinesh Karthik in the playing11 for RCB. Nadeem can very well bat deep down the order. 

Meanwhile Sri Lankan spin bowling all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga will be in the seventh position. As we have seen in the international circuit, Hasaranga has his expertise in both bowling and batting. He is as good as anyone in the batting department. Meanwhile, he is an exciting talent for spin bowling.

RCB’s bowling department is also sorted out just like their batting. The likes of Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmad and Josh Hazlewood form their bowling unit.

RCB Playing11 for IPL 2022, Players List, Complete Squad
Image: (BCCI/IPL/ANI Photo

Pacer Harshal Patel is a brilliant death bowler. He has time and again proved his worth and often delivered his role with perfection. Moreover, to add to his sensational bowling skills, Harshal is also a handy batsman who can add a couple of sixes to the team’s total score.

As said earlier, Yuzvendra Chahal will be missed by the RCB for his services, but the franchise will look forward to Shahbaz Ahmad producing a sharp performance and justifying the faith shown by the franchise. The left-arm spinner has scalped seven wickets in 11 matches until now.

Mohammad Siraj has been the most improved cricketer in the last two years or so. The pacer not only became RCB’s consistent performer but also cemented his place in India’s all three formats.

Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood will follow Siraj. Hazlewood is an experienced campaigner and has loads of skills in his bowling. He can form a deadly bowling combination with Siraj and Harshal Patel for RCB in the IPL 2022.

RCB Playing11 IPL 2022:

Faf du Plessis, Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat/Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Risky Buys by All 10 Teams for IPL 2022.