Friday, July 19, 2024
HomeCricket NewsNo Rohit...

No Rohit Sharma as captain; Virat Kohli Suryakumar Yadav ignore as Cricket Australia names team of T20 World Cup 2024


Cricket Australia on Saturday (29th June) announced their team for the tournament of the T20 World Cup 2024. What caught the attention of many was they hadn’t named India captain Rohit Sharma as skipper of the team, who has guided his side to the final without a single loss. 

Cricket Australia instead went with Rashid Khan as the captain. The Afghanistan skipper was sensational as the leader of the team. Under his leadership, his side reached the semifinal and defeated and eliminated big teams in Australia and New Zealand

Cricket Australia has picked Rohit Sharma as the opening batter in the team of the tournament. The India captain is the leading run-getter for his team with 248 runs. Along with him, Australia opener Travis Head is there at the top as he ended the tournament with over 250 runs to his name. 

Also Read: Rohit Sharma stands tall on his “50s & 100s don’t matter to me” statement as he achieves a historic feat in ICC knockouts

West Indies Nicholas Pooran is the picked as the No.3. The Caribbean batter slammed 228 runs in the tournament and following him at No.4 is USA batter Aaron Jones and not Suryakumar Yadav, who is touted as the best T20I batter in the world. 

Marcus Stoinis also made cut into the team picked by Cricket Australia for the T20 World Cup 2024. The all-rounder was sensational with the bat and ball in the tournament as he mustered 169 runs and also picked crucial wickets for his team. I

Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya along with Rashid Khan are the two all-rounders in the team. The Afghanistan skipper along with Bangladesh’s Rishad Hossain will be forming the spin bowling department. While Jasprit Bumrah, Anrich Nortje and Fazalhaq Farooqi are the two seamers. 

Cricket Australia’s ICC T20 World Cup 2024 team the tournament; Rohit Sharma to open 

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Image from @X)

Here’s Cricket Australia’s ICC T20 World Cup 2024 team of the tournament

Rohit Sharma 
Travis Head 
Nicholas Pooran (WK)
Aaron Jones 
Marcus Stoinis 
Hardik Pandya 
Rashid Khan (C)
Rishad Hossain 
Jasprit Bumrah 
Anrich Nortje 
Fazalhaq Farooqi 

Bookmarked post
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh has 3+ years of experience in producing cricket articles. His expertise extends to cricket news, match analysis and fantasy cricket tips, providing valuable insights to fans around the world.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS