MS Dhoni Tops the list of 100 Crore Players in IPL, Virat behind Rohit Sharma
Image - BCCI/IPL

MS Dhoni Tops the list of 100 Crore Players in IPL, Virat behind Rohit Sharma.

Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni tops the list of 100 Crores Players in IPL, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are behind him. MS Dhoni as per the report earned a total of 137 crores from IPL. This stat is calculated from the inaugural year (2008) of the Indian Premier League till the 2020 season.

The study also shows that Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma is ahead of Virat Kohli.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is on the top charts of the Indian Premier League and BCCI central contract list because of his stats and records.

In the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League (2008) MS Dhoni got the then highest bid. Dhoni bagged a huge USD 1.5 Million in the 2008 Auctions. Right now this amount might look too small and even an uncapped player can earn this.

CSK Skipper Dhoni led his side to the title victory in 2010 and finals in 2008 and his outstanding records made him one of the highest-paid cricketers.

As per the Inside Sports Money ball, MS Dhoni earned a huge 137 crores from Indian Premier League bids. The amount does not include other prize money like Man of the Match, Player of the Tournament, etc.

For three years, 2008, 2009, and 2010 Dhoni earned USD 1.5 Million. He received 8.2 crores in the next three seasons (2011, 2012, 2013) of the Indian T20 League.

BCCI then raised the amount of first choice retentions to 12.5 crores from 2014 IPL. Hence, Dhoni earned 12.5 crores in IPL 2014 and 2015. However, Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) gave MS Dhoni the same amount for two years (2016, 2017) i.e., 12.5 Crores.

In 2018, BCCI again increased the retention price, and this time it got raised to 15 crores. Since 2018 MS Dhoni collected 15 crores for his IPL duty.

These all amount collectively sum up to 137 crores in 13 seasons of the Indian Premier League. Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma is just behind MS Dhoni in the list followed by Virat Kohli.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli earnings of IPL:

Rohit Sharma:

The study also shows that Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma is ahead of Virat Kohli in the list.

Rohit Sharma earned 3 crores every year playing for Deccan Chargers from 2008 to 2010. In IPL 2011 Auctions Mumbai India brought Rohit Sharma for 9.2 crores. He earned the same amount for three years (2011, 2012, 2013).

Rohit Sharma became the captain of Mumbai India midway through the 2013 season and led the side to the title. In 2014, he became the regular captain of the franchise and got the price for first choice retention. Since then, he is matching MS Dhoni every year.

His total earning from IPL becomes 131 crores and 6 crores behind MS Dhoni.

Virat Kohli:

RCB skipper Virat Kohli is not far from the MI Skipper. Virat was picked by Royal Challenger Bangalore in 2008 and gave him 12 lakhs. For three years Virat earned the same amount.

RCB retained Kohli in 2011 for 8.2 crores. He earned 8.2 crores for the next three seasons. While in 2014 he reached the top bracket, drawing huge 12.5 crores. Since then he is matching MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma.

While in 2018 Virat shattered all records by drawing 17 crores i.e., 2 crores more from first choice retentions. Since then he is getting 17 crores.

A total of 126 crores is earned by Virat Kohli from the Indian Premier League.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Suresh Raina Confirms participation in IPL 2021 and competitive cricket
Australia vs India: India found guilty for maintaining slow over-rate, fined 20% fee