ICC Men's ODI Team of the Year 2022. Mohammad Siraj picked in pacer's capacity
Image Source: Twitter

Mohammad Siraj in line to replace Jasprit Bumrah for IND vs SA T20I series: Young Indian pacer Mohammad Siraj is reportedly in consideration to replace injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the India vs South Africa T20I series.

Notably, Jasprit Bumrah missed the three-match T20I series opener against South Africa after complaining of pain in his back. The pace spearhead was rested for the game, considering that excessive stress might trigger his recent back injury.

Subsequently, after the India vs South Africa 1st T20I, he was taken for scans in Bengaluru, the reports of which are awaited. However, as per the sources close to the development, Jasprit will not take part in the last two matches of the T20I series. In fact, Bumrah is probable to miss the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 due to the injury.

With Bumrah set to miss the T20I series, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is looking to draft in Mohammad Siraj to cover his place in the team.

Siraj’s last T20I assignment goes back in February against Sri Lanka on home soil. He was then consistently dropped from the Indian team due to his poor performance.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup: Predicting the Top 5 Spinners at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. 

India vs South Africa T20Is:

Team India managed to dominate South Africa in the opening T20I at Thiruvananthpuram. The bowlers remained star performers of the match. The likes of Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh breathed fire with their swinging deliveries and scalped five crucial wickets in just six overs.

While Arshdeep Singh scalped three wickets in the second over of the innings, Deepak Chahar got two in his bag. The remaining work was done by Harshal Patel and Axar Patel.

The Indian bowlers restricted South Africa to a scanty total of 106 runs in 20 overs. In response to a low total, the Indian innings couldn’t start well, however, the pair of KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav did all the right things to take India over the rope.

India won the 1st T20I against South Africa with eight wickets. For the second T20I, both sides will head to Guwahati on October 2, while the last match of the series will be staged in Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore on October 4.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of T20 World Cup 2022 – Reports