KL Rahul doubtful to play the one-off Test against England in Edgbaston

KL Rahul doubtful to play the one-off Test against England in Edgbaston: Team India has suffered a major blow as senior opener batter KL Rahul is looking doubtful for the all-important rescheduled fifth test match against England. Rahul, who sustained a right groin injury recently, is not certain for the one-off Edgbaston Test, starting July 1.

KL Rahul, who was named India’s captain for the ongoing five matches T20I series against South Africa, had to be pulled out of the contest after suffering a right groin injury on the eve of the series opener in Delhi.

The Indian selectors have announced KL Rahul as Rohit Sharma’s deputy for the tour of England which comprise 1 test, three T20Is and as many ODI games. In case KL Rahul gets ruled out of the tour, Rishabh Pant is likely to be named the team’s vice-captain.

The 30-years old Karnataka cricketer had reported at the National Cricket Academy, Bangalore a couple of days ago and, reportedly, the medical team is still doing the diagnosis of his complaint. As per the sources, Rahul may miss the one-off test match against England, however, his participation in the white ball games can’t be clarified.

ALSO READ: Sunil Gavaskar wants India to carry Bhuvneshwar Kumar for T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia

The first batch of Indian players including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami and others will board a flight to the United Kingdom on June 16 while the second batch including head coach Rahul Dravid, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer will fly on June 20, after the completion of ongoing white ball series against South Africa.

The BCCI had earlier announced India’s 17-men strong squad for the one-off test match against England which comprise three openers. To be on the safer side, BCCI may draft-in Mayank Agarwal as KL Rahul’s replacement for the red ball match.

India’s Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Mohd Shami, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Shubman Gill, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Cheteshwar Pujara, Prasidh Krishna.

ALSO READ: 3 Players who can replace MS Dhoni as CSK captain in IPL 2023