IPL 2024: Not Bhuvneshwar Kumar, SRH to make this World Champion Player CAPTAIN for IPL 2024
Reuters Photo

IPL 2024: In a big development ahead of the Tata IPL 2024, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are likely to make a shift in its leadership approach. SRH reportedly is looking to replace South African batter Aiden Markram with Australian pacer Pat Cummins as the captain of the side ahead of the IPL 2024.

As per the reports, Aiden Markram, who led SRH during the IPL 2023, is likely to step down from his captaincy role ahead of the seventeenth season of the Indian Premier League, which begins on March 22.

Markram will be replaced by Pat Cummins, who has had an impressive time so far as the captain of Australia’s national team. Under Pat Cummins’ leadership, Australia defeated India in the World Test Championship 2023 Final and then doubled it down with the win over India in the ODI World Cup 2023 Final.

SRH finished at the bottom of the IPL 2023 points table under Aiden Markram’s captaincy last year. The 2016 IPL champions could only win four out of 14 matches held in the league stage of the event.

Though Markram’s captaincy experience hasn’t been fruitful in the IPL, he has been successful in leading Sunrisers Eastern Cape to back-to-back title wins in South Africa’s flagship SA20 tournament. The team recently won their second SA20 title by defeating Durban Super Giants by 89 runs in the 2024 Final.

It is believed that SRH’s splurge of INR 20.25 Crores on Australian captain Pat Cummins during the IPL 2024 mini-auction was made with the thought of his captaincy attributes for the IPL 2024.

It’s worth noting that Sunrisers Hyderabad went all out during the IPL 2024 Auction to get the services of Australian captain Pat Cummins. SRH fought an intense bidding war with RCB for Cummins during the auction, which made him one of the highest-paid cricketers in the league’s history.

SRH, interestingly, had a decent outing during the IPL 2024 auction where they managed to buy six players by spending a whopping INR 30.80 Crores. They got the likes of Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh and Jhathavedh Subramanyan, besides Pat Cummins during the auction.

Below is the list of players bought by SRH during IPL 2024 Auction:

  • Pat Cummins (Rs 20.50 crore)
  • Travis Head (Rs 6.80 crore)
  • Wanindu Hasaranga (Rs 1.50 crore)
  • Jaydev Unadkat (Rs 1.60 crore)
  • Akash Singh (Rs 20 lakh)
  • Jhathavedh Subramanyan (Rs 20 lakh)
IPL 2024: Not Bhuvneshwar Kumar, SRH to make this World Champion Player CAPTAIN for IPL 2024
SRH Squad IPL 2024 Auction

IPL 2024: SRH Complete Squad

Abdul Samad, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Abhishek Sharma, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Rahul Tripathi, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanvir Singh, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Mayank Markande, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Akash Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Jhathavedh Subramanyan

ALSO READ: RCB IPL 2024 Strongest Playing11, RCB SWOT Analysis IPL 2024 – Royal Challengers Bangalore