Thursday, July 18, 2024

IPL 2024 DC vs CSK: MS Dhoni Show in Visakhapatnam, CSK lost their first Match of TATA IPL 2024 | DC vs CSK Match Highlights


TATA IPL 2024Delhi Capitals (DC) won their first match as they defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 20 runs at Dr. Y.S.Rajashekar Reddy ACA-VDCA International Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. CSK had a roller-coaster performance in this match against Delhi Capitals but DC ended with a victory in the match no.13 of TATA IPL 2024. However, We saw MS Dhoni as a finisher after a long time but unfortunately CSK lost.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) lost their first game in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 as they played three matches so far and won two of them. CSK is in fantastic form and they are expected to win their sixth title if they consistently continue the same cricket throughout the tournament but they need to win close games as well.

Delhi Capitals (DC) fought well and gave good competition to the Chennai Super Kings therefore successfully defended the total of 192 runs. This was DC’s first victory in the TATA IPL 2024 and they need to replicate the same to win the upcoming matches. DC skipper Rishabh Pant played a superb inning of 51 runs and was leading the team from from with Pacer Mukesh Kumar, who took three wickets.

TATA IPL 2024 DC vs CSK Match Highlights:

DC’s robust start while Batting first in Visakhapatnam:

Delhi Capitals (DC) won the toss and they batted first however, this decision came in their favour as DC Opener David Warner and Prithvi Shaw made a good partnership of 93 runs for the first wicket. Both the batters gave an aggressive start to their team whereas CSK’s bowling unit failed to get early wickets in the match.

David Warner played an impactful inning of 52 runs in 35 balls whereas Prithvi Shaw, who was playing his first game of TATA IPL 2024 scored 43 runs in 27 balls. Shaw started slow in the starting few overs but later he came up with aggressive batting. In the middle overs, CSK took plenty of wickets and started dominating the game.

IPL 2024 DC vs CSK: MS Dhoni Show in Visakhapatnam, CSK lost their first Match of TATA IPL 2024 | DC vs CSK Match Highlights
IPL 2204 Delhi Capitals | Image Credit:

But, Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant played a responsible inning of 51 runs in 32 balls. He knocked 4 fours and 3 sixes at a strike rate of 159.38, this inning by skipper led DC to regain the momentum in the match. 

In the death overs, Axar Patel and Abhishek Porel carried on the aggressive batting therefore Delhi made 191 runs on the scoreboard in 20 overs. From Chennai Super Kings bowling department, Matheesha Pathirana bowled an impressive spell as he took three wickets at an economy rate of 7.74. However, Mustafizur Rahman and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket each.

MS Dhoni Stormy Inning against DC Pacers:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) had a slow and poor start in the second inning as they were able to score only 32 runs with the loss of two wickets in the powerplay. However, Ajinkya Rahane and Daryl Mitchell made a decent partnership of 68 runs for the third wicket but DC was still dominating the game.

Rahane got out by scoring 45 runs in 30 balls whereas Daryl Mitchell scored 34 runs in 26 balls. CSK middle-order batters failed to make partnerships and therefore the run rate kept on increasing which ultimately became unrealistic for CSK at some point in time. But, MS Dhoni came to bat for the first time in the TATA IPL 2024 and he knocked 37 runs in just 16 balls.

However, Dhoni tried his best to finish the game and won the third consecutive match for CSK but lost the match by 20 runs. From the Delhi Capitals bowling department, Mukesh Kumar took three wickets whereas Kahlil Ahmed and Axar Patel got two and one wickets, respectively in this match.

TATA IPL 2024 DC vs CSK Playing XIs:

Delhi Capitals Playing XI: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant(WK/C), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Impact Player: Rasikh Salam

Chennai Super Kings Playing XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad (C), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni(WK), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Matheesha Pathirana, Mustafizur Rahman

Impact Player: Shivam Dube

You May Like This: IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans Won their Second Match of Tournament After Defeating SRH by 7 Wickets | GT vs SRH Match Highlights

Bookmarked post
Amit Patel
Amit Patel
Amit Patel is a cricket writer on ICC Cricket Schedule website. He loves cricket and writes about it. His articles cover cricket news, match analysis, and fantasy cricket tips.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS