India’s squad for West Indies T20Is, Virat, Bumrah rested, Rohit retained
India Team | Image: BCCI

India’s squad for West Indies T20Is, Virat, Bumrah rested, Rohit retained: Proving all the rumours wrong, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has retained skipper Rohit Sharma for the upcoming T20I series against West Indies. Rohit, who was largely criticised for taking a rest in every alternate international series, will be available for the 20-over series against the Caribbeans.

Meanwhile, the all-India senior selection committee has decided to rest Virat Kohli, Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah.

KL Rahul has been included in the series, however, his participation will largely depend on his fitness levels which will be accessed by the BCCI’s medical authorities in the due time. The same goes for chinaman spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

Notably, Rahul recently underwent surgery for sports hernia and is now undergoing his rehab program to attain fitness.

Senior spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has also been named in the side alongside Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi and Axar Patel

Young pacer Umran Malik has been dropped from the side following his debut series against Ireland. The pacer has his speed as an exciting factor, however, poor line and length spoiled his chances of late.

The other notable absentee is wicketkeeper batter, Sanju Samson.

India will tour West Indies and the USA for three ODIs and five-match T20I series, starting July 22.

ALSO READ: Suryakumar Yadav: Indian Michael Hussey. A Strong Phenomenon in Indian Cricket 2022.

India’s Squad for West Indies T20Is

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Arshdeep Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Suryakumar Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul*, Kuldeep Yadav*.

*Subject to Fitness

ALSO READ: ASIA CUP 2022 Schedule, Team, Venue, Time Table, PDF, Point Table, Ranking & Winning Prediction