India vs New Zealand: India’s Predicted Playing11 for India vs New Zealand 1st Test Match

India’s Predicted Playing11 for India vs New Zealand 1st Test Match.

India vs New Zealand: Just a few hours are left for the start of the opening test match between India and New Zealand at Green Park, Kanpur. After bossing the Kiwis in the three matches T20I series, India will march forth for the two matches test series, starting 25th November.

The series is also a part of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle. Both the matches will be of utmost importance for India as well as for New Zealand.

The hosts will begin as the favourites to win the short Test series against New Zealand, however, the tables can take a roll to slide into the visitor’s favour if things don’t go as per the plans. 

Regular skipper Virat Kohli will be unavailable for the first test match, which means, the team will be led by Ajinkya Rahane. Besides Kohli, other notable absentees in the Indian team are Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.

Unfortunately, opener KL Rahul sustained a muscle strain in his left thigh following which he will have to miss the test series. The injury to Rahul will be a blessing in disguise for Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill, who will get a chance in the first choice playing11 for the opening test match.

ALSO READ: India vs New Zealand Test: Opener KL Rahul ruled out of the India vs New Zealand test series

Rahane, the stand-in skipper for the first match, has already confirmed the test debut of middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer in tomorrow’s match against New Zealand.

Moreover, in Rishabh Pant’s absence, stumper batsman Wriddhiman Saha is deemed as the first-choice keeper to go with. 

India has predominantly curated spin-friendly conditions more often than not with a little aid for seamers. The last India vs England home test series was dominated by spinners and something similar is expected in the 1st test at Kanpur as well.

India’s Predicted Playing11 for India vs New Zealand 1st Test:

Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane ©, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Siraj.

Match Details:

Tour: New Zealand tour to India, 2021

Match: India vs New Zealand 1st Test Match

Day/Date: Thursday/25th November

Venue: Green Park, Kanpur

Time: 9:30 AM IST

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Tyre Manufacturer TVS Eurogrip becomes CSK’s principal sponsor for the next three IPL