India vs Australia: Sanjay Manjrekar all set to return to commentary panel
Image - BCCI/ Sportzpics

India vs Australia: Sanjay Manjrekar all set to return to commentary panel. The former cricketer will be in the commentary box in the India-Australia series. India vs Australia: Sanjay Manjrekar all set to return to commentary panel.

India vs Australia: Sanjay Manjrekar is all set to return to the commentary panel in the India tour of Australia. The former cricketer was out of the BCCI list of commentators from March. However, Sony Pictures Network named the renowned commentator on the list for the Australia tour.

Sanjay Manjrekar sacked from BCCI panel:

Sanjay Manjrekar was sacked by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from the list soon before the series with South Africa, which got canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The former cricketer was also not named in the list of commentators for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020.

READ- India vs Australia full schedule, fixtures, venues and squads here.

Notably, Manjrekar during ODI World Cup 2019 made comment on Ravindra Jadeja saying “bits-and-pieces player”. Jadeja did not like the comment made by the veteran and gesticulated angrily towards the commentary box after his half-century against New Zealand in the semi-final.

Sanjay Manjrekar in talks with The Indian Express, BCCI called him on the phone that he was sacked because “some player did not like my attitude, they had an issue with me as a commentator”. 

The commentator reckoned, he would be “happy to apologize” for the unwilling comment. He even wrote to the board to reinstate him twice, he was shaken by the decision and it was a “big jolt” for him. But the authorities did not include him in the on-air talks after that.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India cannot have much to say in the upcoming India-Australia series. The rights for broadcasting belongs to the Australian Cricket Board. Cricket Australia will make the choice for the commentary and CA has included Sanjay Manjrekar in the list along with other veterans too.

Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan to share expertise in the Hindi commentary this time along with other names.

List of Commentators for India-Australia Series:

Hindi Commentary:  Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Vijay Dahiya, Vivek Razdan, Zaheer Khan.
English & Hindi Commentary: Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Harsha Bhogle, Murali Kartik, Ajay Jadeja.
English Commentary: Glenn McGrath and Nick Knight.
Tamil Commentary: T Arasu, Sheshadri Srinivasan, Vidhyut Sivaramakrishna, R Sathish, Naveen Shaur.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021 Updates: KKR to appoint Shubman Gill as Captain
ALSO READ: New rules ICC World Test Championship, Australia toppled India