IND vs AUS: Wasim Akram warns BCCI, Indian players could get tired with Australia ODIs
Image: AP

India vs Australia: The ongoing three-match ODI series between India and Australia has been a great contest between bat and ball so far. The stellar individual performances from both teams have kept fans on their toes and have given them immense joy. The series currently stands at 1-1 and it’s fair to say that two dominant performances from both teams in two games have set the stage for the enthralling decider. 

The Men in Blue dominated the series decider as they performed exceptionally well with both bat and ball to pound the opposition by 5 wickets. A staggering bowling performance saw them bundling out Australia for just 188 runs. They did struggle with the bat but KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja combined to take them home. 

Australia then staged a dominating comeback as they outshined the hosts in all three departments and produced a superlative effort with both bat and ball to level the series. Mitchell Star’s five-wicket haul set the game for the visitors, who bundled the hosts for just 117 runs. The staggering bowling effort was complimented well by the power-hitting of Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh, who struck half-centuries to seal the game by 10 wickets. 

India vs Australia: 2 changes India might make in the series-decider third ODI against Australia in Chennai

India vs Australia
Kuldeep Yadav and Hardik Pandya | BCCI

India vs Australia: The stage is now set for the final game of the series, which will take place in Chennai on 22nd March. The second game was a dreadful time for Indian Cricket Team on the field as they were thrashed in all three departments. With series on the line, it is expected that they will rejuvenate themselves and rectify their mistakes. As the third game of the series is just a few days away, we take a look at the 2 changes India might make in the series-decider third ODI against Australia in Chennai. 

1. Ishan Kishan in place of Suryakumar Yadav 

It’s fair to say that Suryakumar Yadav hasn’t lived up to his expectations in the ODI format. The ongoing series against Australia has been a torrid run for him. The batter has struggled in both games as he bagged golden ducks and looked clueless against the in-swinging delivery of Mitchell Starc in Mumbai and Vishakhapatnam. With him struggling to get going in the 50-over format, the team can look to replace him with Ishan Kishan. The keeper-batter played the first game and also batted in the middle over against New Zealand and therefore can be an ideal replacement for the team in the third game. 

Read Also: Watch – Steve Smith grabs one-handed screamer to send Hardik Pandya packing in the second ODI in Visakhapatnam

2. Washington Sundar in place of Kuldeep Yadav 

The Chennai surface is traditionally is a slow surface that offers a lot of help for the spinners and it is likely that team will continue with the combination of playing three spinners. But over the years, finger spinners have been quite effective on that surface and therefore going by the record, the team can look to bring in Washington Sundar in place of Kuldeep Yadav. Also, the addition of the off-spinner will strengthen India’s batting, which has struggled in two games. The all-rounder has been blowing exceptionally well and has been handy with the bat down the order as well. Therefore Sundar coming in place of Kuldeep could be another change. 

India vs Australia: Probable Indian playing XI for the third ODI 

India vs Australia
Team India | BCCI

India vs Australia: Apart from these two changes, India is unlikely to make a change to their XI. Here’s the probable Indian playing XI for the third ODI. 

Shubman Gill 
Rohit Sharma (C) 
Virat Kohli 
Ishan Kishan 
KL Rahul (wk)
Hardik Pandya (vc)
Ravindra Jadeja 
Axar Patel
Washington Sundar 
Mohammed Siraj 
Mohammad Shami 

Indian squad for the last ODI against Australia  

Here’s the Indian squad for the last ODI against India 

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Umran Malik, Jaydev Unadkat

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.