India vs Afghanistan, 9th Match: India has a target of 272 runs to win the second match of the World Cup
India vs Afghanistan: Hardik Pandya Celebration

The 9th match of the Cricket World Cup 2023 is being played today between Afghanistan and India at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Hashmatullah Shahidi won the toss and elected to bat first, scoring 272 runs in the stipulated 50 overs.

Captain Hashmatullah Shahidi scored more runs for Afghanistan; he scored 80 runs in 88 balls with the help of eight fours and one six. Apart from him, Azmatullah Omarzai scored 62 runs on 69 balls with the help of two fours and four sixes. The Indian team needs 273 runs to win the match.

Jasprit Bumrah took the most wickets for India, taking four wickets for 39 runs in 10 overs. Hardik Pandya took two wickets for 43 runs in seven overs. Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur got one wicket each.

Despite the fact that both teams have faced each other three times in ODIs, India has won twice, and one match has been tied. Aside from that, both teams met only once in the World Cup, on June 22, 2019, in Southampton. India won by 11 runs thanks to Mohammed Shami’s hat-trick. In its first World Cup match, India defeated Australia. Its next match will be against Pakistan on October 14th.

Match Details

Tournament: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Match: IND vs AFG, 9th Match

Date: Wednesday, October 11, 2023

Toss: Afghanistan won the toss and opt to bat

Time: 2:00 PM

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Afghanistan Scorecard

Rahmanullah Gurbaz †2128653175.00
Ibrahim Zadran 2228314078.57
Rahmat Shah 1622373072.72
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)80881288190.90
Azmatullah Omarzai 6269822489.85
Mohammad Nabi 1927521070.37
Najibullah Zadran 2860025.00
Rashid Khan 16121811133.33
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1012222083.33

India vs Afghanistan Playing 11

India: Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj

Afghanistan: Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Sachin Tendulkar names one player from the 2011 Indian World Cup squad whom he wants in the 2023 squad

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates.