Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeCricket NewsIndia squad...

India squad for South Africa T20I announced, KL Rahul to lead


India squad for South Africa T20I announced, KL Rahul to lead: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday, May 22nd, announced an 18-member strong India squad for the five matches T20I series against South Africa. Senior batter KL Rahul to don the captain’s hat while Rishabh Pant is set to be his deputy in the absence of the regulars.

Young pace sensation Umran Malik has earned an expected maiden call-up for the T20I series, starting June 9 in Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium. Punjab Kings pacer Arshdeep Singh has also received his maiden call-up for the national squad.

Umran Malik has so far scalped 21 wickets in the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League. The pacer has filled excitement amongst fans and experts with his 150+ clicks thunderbolts. 

Senior wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Karthik has also found a place in the T20I squad following his heroics in the Indian Premier League. DK’s long wait for his national comeback has now come to rest. 

The likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli along with pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been rested for the five matches T20I series and will directly board a flight to the UK for the fifth rescheduled test match against England.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya has also made a comeback to the Indian side following his long injury haul. The Baroda all-rounder has been impressive in the Tata IPL 2022, both, with his batting and leadership.

Deepak Hooda and Ishan Kishan have retained their position in the shortest format squad for India.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on May 22nd

India’s Squad for South Africa T20I:

KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ishan Kishan, Dinesh Karthik (wk),Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

India vs South Africa T20I 2022 Schedule:

  • 1st T20I – June 9 – Delhi
  • 2nd T20I – June 11 – Cuttack
  • 3rd T20I – June 14 – Vishakhapatnam
  • 4th T20I – June 17 – Rajkot
  • 5th T20I – June 19 – Bangaluru

India’s test squad for 5th Test against England:

Meanwhile, the BCCI also revealed India’s red-ball squad for the fifth rescheduled test match against England. Rohit Sharma to lead the pack of 17 members with KL Rahul as his deputy. Notably, senior batter Cheteshwar Pujara has made a comeback to the squad after a scintillating show in the English County Championship for Sussex.

Pujara continued his stellar show in the English championship and slammed his three consecutive ton for Sussex.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc) Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur,Prasidh Krishna

ALSO READ: Is Rishabh Pant the right choice for Delhi’s Captaincy? Ricky Ponting answers

Bookmarked post
ICS News Desk
ICS News Desk
News Desk reports - ICC Cricket Schedule Team.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS