Thursday, July 25, 2024

ICC WTC 2023: India Declares A Strong Squad Ahead of WTC Final


The Broadcast of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has just released its team squad ahead of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023. The final match will be played against Australia at The Oval, London, from 7th – 11th June 2023.

Australia finished as the number 1 team on the Points table of the WTC. Australia played 19 Games, won 11, lost three and ended five matches in a draw. With 152 points on the table and a percentage of 66.67, Australia made their way to the WTC Finals.

While India had its journey to make it to the WTC Final for the second time, qualifications for the finals had two possibilities of making it to the finals. The first was to defeat Australia 2-1 in the Border Gavaskar Trophy, and the second depended on the Former WTC Winners, New Zealand. Had Sri Lanka made a clean sweep of New Zealand in their home, India’s chances of qualification would have been caught in trouble.

India vs Australia Border Gavaskar Trophy
ICC WTC 2023: India Declares A Strong Squad Ahead of WTC Final 3

India successfully defeated Australia 2-1 in the Border Gavaskar Trophy and defended their title. The Indian Team made it to the second spot of the World Test Championship Points Table with 10 wins. They played 18 matches and finished with 127 Points and a percentage of 58.8. Indian Team has recently announced their 15-Man Squad for the World Test Championship Final 2023.

Indian Team’s Squad for WTC Final

BCCI Announced Indian Team’s Squad for WTC Final

India’s Squad Analysis

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian Team for the final encounter with Australia. Considering the Swinging Conditions of The Oval’s pitch, BCCI has shown confidence in their experienced players Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara. With the brilliant experience of Virat Kohli, the team has declared a strong side.

Indian Team squad for WTC Final
ICC WTC 2023: India Declares A Strong Squad Ahead of WTC Final 4

READ MORE ICC WTC 2023: Ben Stokes Gearing For The Upcoming Ashes, Wants Fast Flat Wickets

The Indian Team has been the talk of the town for their injured players. The Team Squad will miss the brilliance of Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer for the WTC Final. BCCI selected Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Mohd. Shami troubled the Australian batsman with their Fast-Pace Swing Bowling. The Spinning All-Rounders Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel can make a significant difference with their bat and ball.

Here is the Indian Test Squad for WTC Final
Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Bookmarked post

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS