IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Players to Watch Out For during India vs England 2nd Test | England tour of India 2024
Photo Credit: ANI

IND vs ENG 1st Test: India’s Playing11: The excitement for the India vs England five-match test series is at its peak as we are just a few hours away from the red-ball action in Hyderabad. The India vs England 1st test match is set to begin on January 25 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Plenty of buzz could be heard around the upcoming test series between India and England. While some talked about the preparation of spin-friendly surfaces in India, some indulged themselves in predicting the scoreline for the tour. The recent chatter has revolved around Shoaib Bashir, who couldn’t get the Indian visa on time.

With everything settled, there will be huge anticipation among the fans and experts as to how India’s playing11 will look for the first test. England have already named their playing11 for the IND vs ENG 1st Test in Hyderabad. The visitors have named three spinners and a sole pacer in their lineup along with an all-rounder in Ben Stokes.

England’s Playing11: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, Jack Leach

IND vs ENG 1st Test: India’s Playing11

IND vs ENG 1st Test: India's Playing11, KL Rahul in place of Virat Kohli, Rohit-Jaiswal to open, No place for Kuldeep Yadav
KL Rahul and Rahul Dravid

With the absence of Virat Kohli for the first two test matches, it can be confirmed that KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer will find themselves in the playing11 together. There was earlier some confusion whether KL Rahul will play as a genuine batter or will also keep the wickets.

Clearing the doubts, Rahul Dravid, earlier, informed that Rahul has been relieved of the wicketkeeping duties and will only take part in the test matches as a batter.

KL Rahul is anticipated to take up the number 4 role in the team for the opening two games. The batter will take up Virat Kohli’s place in the team, while Shreyas Iyer will continue to remain at his usual number 5 position.

With Dravid’s confirmation, one of KS Bharat or Dhruv Jurel will be named in the playing11 as the wicketkeeper batter. As per the sources, Jurel is unlikely to get the nod ahead of KS Bharat, who will mark his test comeback since the WTC final against Australia in 2023.

Team India’s bowling attack will comprise three spinners and two pacers. The likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Siraj will form the pace attack while Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin and Axar Patel will be the three designated spinners on the side.

Rohit Sharma and Co can also look at Kuldeep Yadav to add variety to the spin bowling abilities. Yadav provides a wrist spin option and can be lethal at times, however, with his addition, the batting depth of the team gets compromised.

Below is India’s playing11 for the India vs England 1st test in Hyderabad:

India’s Playing11 against England 1st Test

Wicketkeeper: KS Bharat

Batters: Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer

All-Rounder: Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel

Bowlers: Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj

ALSO READ: India vs England 1st Test Dream 11 Team, Head-to-Head Stats, Playing 11, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium Pitch Report and Weather Forecast

For more details head to BCCI’s official website.