IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Win for India! Shreyas Iyer and R Ashwin make it 2-0 for India
IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Win for India! Shreyas Iyer and R Ashwin make it 2-0 for India

IND vs BAN 2nd Test: What a match toward the end! It has brought thrill, emotions, aggression, and everything. Bangladesh have played 13 test matches against India and lost 11 out of those with 2 draws. The Tigers were inches close this time to registering their first-ever test match victory against India but Shreyas Iyer and Ashwin’s excellence snatched their hopes.

Bangladesh will be puzzled wondering how they let this happen after just having India hanging at 74/7. The target of 145 seemed to be Everest at that moment. It took the cricketing acumen and temperament of the Ashwin-Iyer combo to save the visitors. With a perfect balance of caution and aggression, the pair displayed to everyone how to play on a turning surface. Let’s take a quick look:

DON’T MISS: GT Squad IPL 2023: Complete List of Players Bought by Gujarat Titans in IPL 2023 Auction

IND vs BAN: 2nd Test | Day 4 | Review

Jaydev Unadkat and Axar Patel came to the crease to continue the Indian scoreline and Unadkat started with a banger, SIX! But he could not stand more than the 9th ball of the morning when Shakib strikes down Jaydev and Rishabh Pant comes in. 

Mehidy Hasan Miraz has donned his fiery form. After taking Rishabh Pant’s wicket, he took just three balls to make Axar his fifth victim of the innings, giving him another five-wicket haul. India now appeared to be in a pathetic situation with 71 runs still needed and 7 wickets lost.

After Axar’s wicket, the next 5 to 7 overs were highly traumatic. Ashwin could have been Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s sixth wicket, but he was dropped at the short leg at 1 run. The partnership was later established, strikes were rotated, and bad balls were punished by Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer.

IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Win for India! Shreyas Iyer and R Ashwin make it 2-0 for India
IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Win for India! Shreyas Iyer and R Ashwin make it 2-0 for India (Twitter)

It was the 47th over when India were at 129 and 16 runs were still needed. Ashwin decided to attack and hit a one-handed six, way over the mid-wicket in the very first ball of the over. A quick double at the 2nd ball and dot balls. He lofted the 5th ball over mid-off for a four and looked like want to finish it off in a hurry, so he did. The winning hit comes through another boundary. Ashwin punches the air in delight, Iyer is elated too and so are their teammates in the dressing room. 

India won the match by 3 wickets and the series by 2-0. Ravichandran Ashwin is awarded Player of the Match and Cheteshwar Pujara is awarded Player of the Series (IND VS BAN).

IND vs BAN: 2nd Test | Scorecard

Bangladesh 1st Innings -227/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Ashwin2457773042.10
Zakir Hasan c Rahul b Unadkat1534711044.11
Mominul Haque c Pant b Ashwin8415725112153.50
Shakib Al Hasan (c)c Pujara b Yadav1639481141.02
Mushfiqur Rahim c Pant b Unadkat2646635056.52
Litton Das c Rahul b Ashwin2526342196.15
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Pant b Yadav1551693029.41
Nurul Hasan lbw b Yadav613130046.15
Taskin Ahmed c Mohammed Siraj b Yadav11622006.25
Taijul Islam not out42710200.00
Khaled Ahmed c Unadkat b Ashwin023000.00
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Mohammed Siraj913904.33
Umesh Yadav1542541.66
Jaydev Unadkat1625023.12
Ravichandran Ashwin21.537143.25
Axar Patel1233202.66
IND vs BAN Scorecard

India 1st Innings -314/10

KL Rahul (c)lbw b Taijul Islam10451022.22
Shubman Gill lbw b Taijul Islam20391151.28
Cheteshwar Pujara c Mominul Haque b Taijul Islam24552043.63
Virat Kohli c Nurul Hasan b Taskin Ahmed24733032.87
Rishabh Pant c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz931047589.42
Shreyas Iyer lbw b Shakib Al Hasan8710510282.85
Axar Patel c Najmul Hossain Shanto b Shakib Al Hasan4111036.36
Ravichandran Ashwin lbw b Shakib Al Hasan12302040.00
Jaydev Unadkat not out14322043.75
Umesh Yadav c Litton Das b Taijul Islam141330107.69
Mohammed Siraj st Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan7151046.66
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Taskin Ahmed1525813.86
Shakib Al Hasan19.337944.05
Khaled Ahmed1014104.10
Taijul Islam2537442.96
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1726113.58
IND vs BAN Scorecard

Bangladesh 2nd Innings – 231/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Ashwin5311016.12
Zakir Hasan c Siraj b Yadav511355037.77
Mominul Haque c Pant b Siraj591055.55
Shakib Al Hasan(c)c Shubman Gill b Unadkat13361036.11
Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Patel9190047.36
Litton Das b Siraj73987074.48
Mehidy Hasan Miraz lbw b Patel05000.00
Nurul Hasan st Pant b Patel312921106.89
Taskin Ahmed not out31464067.39
Taijul Islam lbw b Ashwin150020.00
Khaled Ahmed run out (Shubman Gill/Patel)491044.44
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Umesh Yadav913213.55
Ravichandran Ashwin2226623.00
Jaydev Unadkat931711.88
Mohammed Siraj1104123.72
Axar Patel19.216833.51
IND vs BAN Scorecard

India 2nd Innings- 145/7 (T: 145 runs)

Shubman Gill st Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz7350020.00
KL Rahul (c)c Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan270028.57
Cheteshwar Pujara st Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz6121050.00
Axar Patel b Mehidy Hasan Miraz34694049.27
Virat Kohli c Mominul Haque b Mehidy Hasan Miraz122004.54
Jaydev Unadkat lbw b Shakib Al Hasan13160181.25
Rishabh Pant lbw b Mehidy Hasan Miraz9131069.23
Shreyas Iyer not out29464063.04
Ravichandran Ashwin not out42624167.74
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Shakib Al Hasan1405023.57
Taijul Islam1141401.27
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1946353.31
Taskin Ahmed10404.00
Khaled Ahmed201206.00
IND vs BAN Scorecard

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.