Rohit Sharma Provides Update On His T20 World Cup 2024 Participation
Image Source:

India captain Rohit Sharma is all set to achieve history in the T20Is. The opening batter is just 18 sixes away from becoming the first cricketer ever to complete 200 sixes in the shortest format of the game. 

Rohit Sharma currently has 182 sixes to his name from 148 T20Is to his name. The opening batter is on the verge of creating history and it will be no surprise if he achieves the feat in the upcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan

Rohit Sharma was named in the Indian squad for the Afghanistan series. The batter hasn’t play a single T20I since the end of the T20 World Cup 2022. He will be making a return to the former after 14 months long and also will be captaining the team. 

The upcoming T20I series will be a huge opportunity for Rohit Sharma to reclaim his stake back in the format. The batter of late hasn’t had the kind of success he would’ve wanted in the format and he himself would be eager to make a strong statement for the series. 

Also Read: Suryakumar Yadav to undergo hernia surgery; likely to miss few games in IPL

The return of the opening batter back to the T20I setup could well be a hint about his availability for the T20 World Cup 2024. There were a lot of speculations about the batter’s future for the event. But him being back as a captain speaks itself about his future. 

It will be interesting to see how Rohit Sharma will go about the business in the upcoming series. His form would be crucial for the team going into the series. If he manages to score well then it will be almost certain that he will play in the World Cup. 

IND vs AFG: India squad for the T20I series against Afghanistan; Rohit Sharma to captain

Rohit Sharma {PC Getty}
Rohit Sharma {PC Getty}

Apart from Rohit, Virat Kohli also returned to the team after 14 long months. Sanju Samson too has been recalled whereas Shreyas Iyer has been rested. Here’s the India squad for the T20I series against Afghanistan: 

Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar