ICC T20 World Cup Dates Announced, Schedule, Teams and Venues

ICC T20 World Cup Dates Announced, Schedule, Teams and Venues.

ICC T20 World Cup: The 2021 edition’s Men’s T20 World Cup is all set to be staged in the UAE, starting October 17, two days after the completion of the suspended Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021.

Earlier, ANI had reported that the cash-rich Indian T20 League will resume on September 17 in the UAE and will have a month-long window to complete the remaining 31 games. The final is scheduled to be held on 15th October.

Season 14 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was halfway pulled back due to rising covid cases in the bubbles.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is reported to begin from October 17 while the final will be held on November 14 in the UAE.

The 16 teams affair ICC showpiece event was originally scheduled to be held in India, however, the deteriorating situations in the country forced the BCCI and ICC officials to shift the venues.

The global body has cleared that the hosting rights will be retained by the BCCI and India even if the tournament will be held in the UAE or the middle east.

As per the reports, the BCCI is yet to reply to the ICC on their stance of hosting the World Cup in India. 

“Round one of the showpiece event will have 12 matches amongst eight teams. The top four teams in the round will advance to super 12,” reported ESPN Cricinfo.

Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea will fight to enter the super 12 round. The top four teams will enter super 12s where they will join the top eight ranked T20I teams.”

As many as 30 games will be held in the Super 12 round starting October 24 across three venues of the UAE – Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Following the Super 12s, three knockout games will be held – two semi-finals and one final to decide the winner of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

The ICC in a statement said that the final call on the host country will be taken at the end of this month and the preparation will commence after the decision.

“A final decision on the host country will be taken later this month. The board also confirmed that the BCCI will remain the host of the event regardless of where the event is played,” said ICC in a release.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: 3 Batsman Who Can Replace Jos Buttler In Phase 2 Of The Vivo IPL 2021

Total Participating Teams in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

As stated earlier, a total of 16 teams will participate in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The top eight ranked teams in the ICC T20I teams ranking will head directly to the Super 12 round while the remaining eight teams will have to seal their places by competing against each other.

Top Eight Ranking Teams of ICC T20 Rankings:

England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and Afghanistan.

Other eight participating teams:

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Venues:

Although the final confirmation from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to follow, the three possible venues are Sharjah, Dubai International Stadium and Abu Dhabi Stadium. 

A couple of sources also claimed Oman’s capital Muscat to host a few matches to give breathing space to the UAE after IPL 2021 phase 2.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule:

The official schedule is yet to be announced. Stay tuned until we provide you the official information regarding the Schedule.

ALSO READ: India Vs England Test Series: No Warm-Up Games For Team India Ahead Of India-England Test Series, 2 Warm-Up Games At Durham

ICC T20 World Cup Dates Announced, Schedule, Teams and Venues.