ICC releases deadline for T20 World Cup 2024 squad selection, These players may get a chance in the Indian team
Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant

The ICC has set a May 1 deadline for all teams competing in the ICC Men’s T-20 World Cup 2024, which begins on June 2. All cricket boards must announce their squads before May 1. This year’s World Cup will feature a total of 20 teams from the United States and the West Indies.

All the cricket boards are busy preparing for the T20 World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also decided on the squad. BCCI can announce the squad for World Cup 2024 any day.

After the ODI World Cup, a lot of questions were hovering over Indian team captain Rohit Sharma. According to some sources, there was talk of making Hardik Pandya the captain in his place in the T20 World Cup, but BCCI ignored all these speculations and made it clear that Rohit Sharma will remain the captain of the short format of the Indian team.

These players may get a chance in the Indian team

Suryakumar Yadav and Rinku Singh
ICC releases deadline for T20 World Cup 2024 squad selection, These players may get a chance in the Indian team 2

According to PTI report, this time BCCI will not make any significant changes in its World Cup team. This means that there is little hope of seeing many new faces in the squad. Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, apart from Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, 20 more players in the Indian team will get a chance in the World Cup squad.

However, previous reports have stated that six batsmen can be included in the 20-member Indian team. Apart from these, there will be room for four all-rounders, three specialist spinners, and three wicketkeepers. Aside from that, four fast bowlers can join the squad.

Batsmen (6): Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav and Rinku Singh

All-rounders (4): Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dubey and Axar Patel

Specialist Spinners (3): Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravi Bishnoi

Wicketkeepers (3): Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Sanju Samson

Fast bowlers (4): Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan

The T20 World Cup will be conducted this time in three stages, including a knockout competition. Each of the 20 teams was split up into 4 groups of 5. Each group’s top two teams advance to the Super-8. Following this, each of the eight teams will be split into two groups of four. The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals of the Super-8 stage. Semi-final matches will determine which two teams advance to the finals.

T20 World Cup 2024 Groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and the USA
Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman
Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea
Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal

READ: Sunil Narine to play T20 World Cup 2024?

For More Visit Official Site of BCCI