Hosting Rights/Countries of ICC tournaments from 2024-2031 announced, India get 3 tournaments
Reuters Photo

Hosting Rights/Countries of ICC tournaments from 2024-2031 announced, India get 3 tournaments.

The major cricketing tournament is all set to make a comeback in Pakistan after over two decades as ICC has awarded the 2025 Champions Trophy to them.

As per the recent development from ICC’s next cycle of flagship tournaments, Pakistan has been rewarded one tournament while India is all set to host three major ICC tournaments during the year 2024-31. As many as 11 Full member nations and three associate member countries have been given the hosting rights of the flagship tournaments organised by ICC.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will host the 2029 Champions Trophy in the next cycle. Besides this, India is also selected to co-host the 2026 Men’s T20 World Cup with Sri Lanka and the 2031 ODI World Cup with Bangladesh.

The next ICC cycle of tournaments will run from the year 2024 to 2031.

The ICC flagship tournament will make a comeback to Pakistan after the 1996 World Cup. Pakistan was not granted any showpiece event by ICC after the 2009 terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore. 

It is important to note, all the major international matches and bilateral series were discontinued in Pakistan since the terror attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team bus. The major cricket playing nations boycotted travelling to Pakistan owing to the issue of terrorism. 

Pakistan won 2017 Champions Trophy by defeating India in the final.
Pakistan won 2017 Champions Trophy by defeating India in the final.

After a decade and a half of reluctance from the players to visit Pakistan, the country eventually revived and conducted a few bilateral series on their home soil marking a return of cricket in Pakistan. However, that happiness didn’t last long especially after the fresh pull out of New Zealand and England from their tours to Pakistan, again citing the concerns of security of players.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya clear rumours on his two watches worth 5 Crores seized by Airport Customs

It will be interesting to see if big cricket bodies including India will travel to Pakistan for such high profile competition. 

“In all probabilities, they (Pakistan) might have to host in the UAE,”  a source said.

The 2024 T20 World Cup is given to West Indies and USA jointly. This will be the first time when a country from North America will host a global cricketing event.

Namibia alongside South Africa and Zimbabwe will host the Men’s 2027 ODI World Cup. While Australia and New Zealand will co-host the 2028 T20 World Cup.

The 2030 T20 World Cup’s hosting rights will be shared by England, Scotland and Ireland. To end the cycle, India and Bangladesh will come together to host the 2031 ODI World Cup.

Hosting Rights/Countries of ICC Tournaments from 2024-2031:

TournamentHost CountriesDate
T20 World Cup 2024West Indies and USAJune 2024
Champions Trophy 2025PakistanFebruary 2025
T20 World Cup 2026India and Sri LankaFebruary 2026
ODI World Cup 2027South Africa, Namibia and ZimbabweOctober/November 2027
T20 World Cup 2028Australia and New ZealandOctober 2028
Champions Trophy 2029IndiaOctober 2029
T20 World Cup 2030England, Ireland and ScotlandJune 2030
ODI World Cup 2031India and BangladeshOctober/November 2031

ALSO READ: India vs New Zealand: Kane Williamson opts out of T20I series against India, focus on Test