Hardik Pandya's new year resolution to win World Cup
Image Source: Twitter

Hardik Pandya to lead India in Ireland’s tour, Expected Indian squad for Ireland tour: All-rounder Hardik Pandya is likely to don the captain’s hat during India’s upcoming tour of Ireland for the white ball matches. Rishabh Pant, who is leading the men in blues against South Africa in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma, will be on the tour of England and hence, Hardik becomes the prominent figure to lead the side. 

Notably, Rishabh Pant will fly to the United Kingdom after the completion of India’s home T20I series against South Africa to play out the one-off test match against England in Edgbaston. He won’t travel with the second-string Indian squad to Ireland for the two matches T20I series.

In Pant’s absence, Hardik Pandya, who is Rishabh’s deputy in the ongoing series against the Proteas, is expected to lead the men in blues.

“While there is Dinesh Karthik, who is the senior-most player in the squad along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, it was Hardik, who was Pant’s designated deputy and hence favourite to lead,” the BCCI official said.

As per the sources, the selectors are not expected to make a lot of changes in the Indian squad touring Ireland and hence the chances of selection for Moshin Khan and Rahul Tripathi are dim.

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup: Top 10 Batters to Watch Out for. Star Batters. 

Team India is scheduled to play two T20I matches against Ireland, starting June 26. Both the fixtures are scheduled to be staged in Dublin on June 26 and 28 respectively.

While the second-string Indian team will play against Ireland, the Indian test squad is scheduled to have a four-day practice match against Leicester from June 24-27. Keeping in mind the fixture clash, the BCCI has asked NCA head VVS Laxman to accompany the Indian team in Ireland’s tour while regular head coach Rahul Dravid will be involved in the test match preparations with the red-ball squad.

Expected Indian squad for Ireland tour:

Hardik Pandya (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Mohsin Khan/Rahul Tripathi.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) IPL 2023 Predicted Squad, Playing XI, Schedule and Prediction