Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda released from India vs South Africa T20I series, Iyer, Shahbaz to replace
Image Source: Twitter

Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda released from India vs South Africa T20I series, Iyer, Shahbaz to replace: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has added all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmad and middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer in place of Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda for the three matches T20I series against South Africa.

While senior all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been given rest to manage his workload, Deepak Hooda has suffered back spasms. owing to which he has been ruled out of the T20I series.

The three-match home T20I series against South Africa starts on September 28 in Thiruvananthpuram. The two sides will then head to Guwahati and Indore for the final two T20Is before locking horns in the One Day Internationals (ODIs).

Further, a senior BCCI official confirmed that Mohammad Shami’s return to the Indian side has been delayed as he is yet to completely recuperate from COVID-19. 

“Shami hasn’t recovered from his bout of COVID-19. He needs more time, and hence, will be out of the South Africa series. Umesh Yadav will continue as Shami’s replacement for the South Africa series,” a senior BCCI source told PTI on the condition of anonymity.

ALSO READ: South Africa Tour of India 2022 Schedule, IND vs SA, Tickets, Venue, Squad List, Venue, Live Telecast Channel In India, And Live Streaming Details

It’s still not disclosed whether Mohammad Shami will travel with the Indian contingent to Australia for the T20 World Cup 2022 or not. Notably, he has been named in the playing reserves for the World Cup.

“There is no medical update about the time that will take for him to be fully fit but currently, it does not look good,” a source in the know said. 

India squad for South Africa T20Is:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer.

ALSO READ: Ashes 2023: When and Where the Men’s and Women’s Ashes 2023 will be played? Fixtures announced.