England’s T20I Squad against Sri Lanka, Chris Woakes recalled after 6 years

England’s T20I Squad against Sri Lanka, Chris Woakes recalled after 6 years

England’s T20I Squad against Sri Lanka, Chris Woakes recalled after 6 years.

England’s T20I Squad against Sri Lanka: The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) selectors have recalled pacer Chris Woakes to take part in the shortest format after almost six years. The board released a 16-men strong squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka, scheduled for this month.

Woakes who last featured in T20I cricket in 2015, has got his callup and will have a golden opportunity to place his card up for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 selections. After making his T20I debut back in 2011, Woakes has featured in just eight T20I games till now.

All rounder Ben Stokes and paceman Jofra Archer remain unavailable for the selections as they both haven’t fully recovered from their injuries.

  The Ashes 2021-22: English pacer James Anderson set to miss 1st Ashes test match in Brisbane

“With several high-profile players missing through injury, it allows me to look at some of our experienced players who have not featured at this level for some time,” said England coach Chris Silverwood, now in charge of selection.

“The likes of Chris Woakes and David Willey are very experienced cricketers, and to have them both in the mix is exciting and shows the depth of squad we have available.

ALSO READ: England Cricket Board To Review Their Player’s Social Media Following Ollie Robinson Controversy

“With the T20 World Cup only a few months away, this summer is about perfecting our team and continuing to progress on the field.”

  Covid-scare in the Ashes 2021-22, England coach to isolate after returning covid positive

England and Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three T20I series. The first two T20Is will be held at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff on June 23 and June 24 while the final T20I game is scheduled in Southampton on June 26.

England’s T20I squad against Sri Lanka T20Is:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Tom Curran, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Dawson, Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Sam Billings, Mark Wood.

England vs Sri Lanka T20I Schedule:

Jun 23, 2021: ENGvsSL 1st T20I, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (17:30 GMT).

Jun 24, 2021: ENGvsSL 2nd T20I, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (17:30 GMT).

Jun 26, 2021: ENGvsSL 3rd T20I, Ageas Bowl, Southampton (13:30 GMT).

ALSO READ: Dhaka Premier League (DPL): Shakib Al Hasan Banned For 4 DPL Games Due To His Shameful Behaviour