ENGvsIND: England’s squad for third test match in Headingley against India revealed

ENGvsIND: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced England’s squad for the third test match scheduled to be held in Headingley Leeds. The cricket board has dropped underperforming Dom Sibley and Zak Crawley from the English top order.

Virat Kohli led India crunched England in the second test match at Lords on day five after the first match ended in a draw due to timely showers. With the win in the second game, India went 1-nil up in the five-match test series.

The third test between India and England will begin on 25 August at Headingley Leeds.

Sibley managed 11 and a duck in the two innings of the second test match while 18 and 28 in the first test match. Zak Crawley who was dropped off in the second test managed to score 27 and 6 runs in two innings of the first test match at Trent Bridge.

Dawid Malan has been named in the English squad for the third test match as England looks to bolster the top order. 

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya Can Take A Game Away In Just Seconds, Says Dinesh Karthik

Malan is likely to play the third test at Leeds. The 33 years old amassed a brilliant 199 in a first-class match recently against Sussex and Headingley is also his home ground.

Haseeb Hameed, who replaced Zak Crawley in the second test, managed a duck and 9 in the second test match. He has been retained in the squad by the ECB.

In the meantime, pacer Saqib Mahmood has been called as England is doubtful for Mark Wood, who sustained a shoulder injury during the second test. Wood scalped five wickets in the entire test at Lords.

Wood’s injury will be a worrying sign for the England management as the team has already lost the likes of Stuart Broad, Jofra Archer and Chris Woakes due to their respective injuries.

England’s squad for the third test match against India:

Joe Root (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali,  Dan Lawrence, James Anderson, Rory Burns, Sam Curran, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Saqib Mahmood, Ollie Robinson, Haseeb Hameed,  Mark Wood.

ALSO READ: Australia’s Squad For The ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Complete Team