The Ashes 2021-22: England’s Jos Buttler ruled out of Ashes 2021-22 due to finger injury
Image Source: Twitter

England’s Jos Buttler ruled out of Ashes 2021-22 due to finger injury: England’s senior wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler has been ruled out of the final Ashes Test match owing to a fractured left index finger. The cricketer will return home and will be assessed with England Cricket Board (ECB’s) medical team.

Buttler sustained the finger blow while keeping the wickets in Australia’s first innings in the fourth Sydney Test Match. He was struggling to grip his bat while batting. In his absence, Ollie Pope assumed the wicketkeeping role.

“Buttler is going home after this game, it’s quite a bad injury. Real disappointment and shame to not have him at Hobart. The way he stood up for the team shows his character,” Joe Root said in the post-match presentation after England scripted a thrilling draw at the SCG.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has roped in Sam Billings as his replacement for the final Hobart test match. Billings was plying his trade for Sydney Thunder in the ongoing BBL 2021-22.

ALSO READ: ICC Player of the Month nominee announced for December 2021, Mayank Agarwal named

Billings is all set to receive his maiden test cap, especially looking at Bairstow’s fitness issues.

It is noteworthy that Jonny Bairstow has also sustained a blow on his right thumb. England’s medical team is assessing him and a clearer picture is yet to come out.

To add more woes, England’s premier all-rounder Ben Stokes is also hurt with a side strain. He batted with the injury and contributed well to take his team towards a nicely-fought draw against Australia.

In the next few days, the extent of injuries of both the aforementioned cricketers will be disclosed.

Australia and England will lock horns for one final time in the ongoing Ashes 2021-22 on January 14th at the Bellerive Oval, Hobart for the fifth test match. The hosts, Aussies, have already clinched the series by defeating England in the first three fixtures.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Captain of Lucknow IPL Team in the IPL 2022