David Miller

South African veteran cricketer David Miller has been named as the captain of Paarl Royals, which is the team owned by Indian Premier League franchise Rajasthan Royals in South Africa’s very own T20 league which is set to have its inaugural season this year, i.e, SA20. 

David Miller is one of the most experienced players in the current South African international team and he has some captaincy experience to his name as well. He used to be the captain of IPL franchise Kings XI Punjab (now known as Punjab Kings). He is also the current captain of Barbados Royals in the ongoing season of the Carribean Premier League and he captained the South African T20I team in a 3-match series against England in July (which they won 2-1). 

While it is true that David Miler had seen a dip in his form in the last 3-4 years, the 33-year old has redeemed his reputation as a responsible finisher in T20 cricket lately and it started with IPL 2022. Killer Miller was simply phenomenal with his new side. He scored 481 runs in 16 matches in IPL 2022 and was one of the key players in GT’s IPL winning side. 

It was due to these recent accomplishments (along with the fact that Miller is one of the most popular cricketers in South Africa) that led to Paarl Royals appointing David Miller as their captain for the inaugural season of SA20

David Miller said the following words upon being appointed as Paarl Royals’ captain: “It makes me immensely proud to have been appointed as the captain of the Paarl Royals. To be able to call it my home, gives me great joy.” 

“The people of Paarl and the Western Cape as a whole are great supporters of quality and entertaining cricket, and my ambition will be to lead the team in the right manner and give our fans countless memories to cheer their team on. We already have some top cricketers onboard with the likes of Jos, Obed and Corbin, and I am looking forward to working with an exciting set of players to start this SA20 journey.”

Also Read:- Mohammed Shami: Indian Pacer Tests Covid Positive. Will Miss 3 T20I Series VS Australia. Umesh Named Replacement.