3 Problems CSK needs to fix before Tata IPL 2023
Image Source; IPL/Twitter

CSK retained and released players list for IPL 2023 [Prediction]: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) went through an unwanted turmoil in the recently ended Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 as the franchise suffered a couple of captaincy changes. MS Dhoni, who had led CSK successfully ever since the league began, had decided to step down from his role and the management, then, subsequently placed all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja at the helm. However, CSK couldn’t perform satisfactorily and lost consecutive matches under the leadership of Ravindra Jadeja and the cricketer later decided to give back the highest order role and responsibilities to MS Dhoni midway through the tournament.

The four-time IPL winners had a forgettable outing in the entire Tata IPL 2022. From getting blows due to injury-related issues to losing matches on the trot, Chennai had an awful time playing in the IPL season fifteen. The franchise could only manage to win four matches out of 14 in the league stage and ended their turbulent season by finishing in the penultimate position in the points table.

Being the defending champions, fans had high expectations from the yellow brigade, however, the tournament went exactly the opposite. Right from the start of the tournament, CSK felt jitters and their uneasiness could be seen in their derailed performance.

Nevertheless, CSK would now look ahead to come out better prepared for the next IPL season. Though CSK had several flaws in their lineup, the franchise was successful in spotting a couple of young talents who can provide their services in the upcoming few seasons.

This article will lead you through the CSK retained and released players list for the IPL 2023. We have predicted the names of the player who are most likely to be retained and released by the franchise ahead of the IPL 2023.

CSK retained and released players list for IPL 2023 [Prediction]:

CSK retained Players List:

233764 jadeja dhoni csk

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be looking to get one more year of MS Dhoni’s valuable services for the team, which makes him the very first retention for the team. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, and speedster Deepak Chahar will be the other three players to be in the first set of retention.

Latest recruits such as Mukesh Choudhary, Devon Conway, Maheesh Theekshana, and Shivam Dube were a couple of players who performed consistently throughout the IPL 2022. 

The Tamil Nadu-based IPL franchise believes in backing its core players and their strategies over the years give concrete proof of that. The likes of Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo and Moeen Ali played some good cricket, however, in patches. CSK will also look to retain these players.

Other notable player retentions for CSK will be – C Hari Nishaanth, Subhranshu Senapati, Mitchell Santner, K Bhagat Verma, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, KM Asif, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh and Matheesh Pathirana.

CSK Retained Players List – MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Mukesh Choudhary, Maheesh Thikshana, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, C Hari Nishaanth, Subhranshu Senapati, Mitchell Santner, K Bhagat Verma, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, KM Asif, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh and Matheesh Pathirana.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023-27 Media Rights, Amazon Pulls Out, race between Viacom, Sony, Star, Voot

CSK released players list:

CSK pacer Adam Milne ruled out of Tata IPL 2022, Matheesha Pathirana comes in as replacement
Image: IPL

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) may look to part ways with Narayan Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, Adam Milne, and Tushar Deshpande. 

Chris Jordan, the T20 specialist bowler for England, had a pale season in the IPL with CSK. Jordan could only scalp two wickets in his four outings for CSK and leaked runs at an economy of over 8.9.

Adam Milne, on the other side, is highly injury-prone and was ruled out of the Tata IPL 2022 after a few initial matches. CSK might not want to invest INR 1.90 Crores to retain his services in the next season.

Meanwhile, domestic players, Narayan Jagadeesan and Tushar Deshpande are unlikely to receive opportunities from CSK in the next season. 

CSK Released Players List – Narayan Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, Adam Milne, Tushar Deshpande.

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup: What are the Key Factors to make a Great T20 Team?