Babar Azam breaks Virat and Gayle’s record of fewest innings to score 7000 T20 runs
Image Source: Twitter

Babar Azam breaks Virat and Gayle’s record of fewest innings to score 7000 T20 runs.

Pakistan national cricket team skipper Babar Azam on Sunday reached another milestone during the match between Southern Punjab and Central Punjab in the National T20 Cup. The cricketer on October 3 completed his 7000 T20 runs and to complete this achievement he surpassed the likes of Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle.

Babar Azam took 187 innings to breach the 7000 T20 runs milestone which is the fastest in the history of T20 cricket. Earlier, West Indies dashing cricketer Chris Gayle held the record in 192 innings while Virat Kohli was second on the list with 212 T20 innings.

The record includes the collective runs scored in the franchise cricket, played all across the world, and the ICC Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).

The Pakistani cricketer has featured in several franchise cricket leagues which include Pakistan Super League, Bangladesh Premier League, Caribbean Premier League and England’s Vitality Blast. Across all these T20 leagues, Babar has amassed 3,058 runs from  83 matches. The rest of his T20 runs have come from the T20I cricket for Pakistan. He has plundered 2,204 runs from 61 T20I innings.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Bhuvneshwar Kumar is not 100 per cent fit in the IPL, says Sanjay Manjrekar

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) extensively covered the milestone achievement of their national superstar. 

“ANOTHER RECORD FOR @babarazam258,” wrote Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a Twitter tweet.

A few days ago, Babar also surpassed Virat Kohli’s record in the list of batters with the most number of T20 hundred. Azam representing Central Punjab against Northern smacked a blistering hundred to take his T20 ton tally to 6 in 194 matches. Virat Kohli has scored five hundred in his 315 T20 innings.

West Indies cricketer Chris Gayle is leading the list of most T20 tons with a figure 22 against his name. The second on the list is David Warner with 8 hundreds followed by Brendon McCullum, Rohit Sharma and Shane Watson.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: DC vs CSK Dream11 Prediction, Playing11, Pitch Report, Fantasy Tips