Australia tour of India 2022 for 3 T20Is in September
Image Source: Twitter

Australia tour of India 2022 for 3 T20Is in September: Team India is all set to welcome their Australian counterparts for the three-match Twenty-20 International series in a build-up for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Down Under. The Aussies are fixed to tour India in September prior to the World Cup. confirmed the development on Wednesday along with a couple of home series in Australia.

“Australia will play a number of white ball series with home games against Zimbabwe, New Zealand, West Indies and England coming either side of three T20s in India in September,” said a report published in

Notably, the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is slated to begin on the 16 October and Australia’s T20I tour to India will be crucial for both sides to solidify their preparations for the marquee ICC event.

The series against Australia will be India’s fourth T20I series following the end of the ongoing Tata IPL 2022. The fifteenth edition of the IPL will be concluded on May 29th post which Rohit Sharma and Co will host South Africa for five-match T20I series, beginning June 9.

ALSO READ: I fully back Rishabh Pant’s every decision onfield, says DC coach Ricky Ponting

After wrapping up the home schedule against South Africa, the Indian contingent will then proceed to the Ireland tour for two T20Is followed by a tour of England, where they will play the rescheduled fifth test match along with a three matches ODIs and as many games T20I series.

The rescheduled test match, to be played at Edgbaston, against England will be part of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 and will be of huge significance as it can lift India’s ranking in the points table. A win against England will boost India’s chances to qualify for the final of the Test championship.

Following the successful wrap of the England tour, India will host Australia for three-match T20I series. 

Notably, team India made an early exit from the last T20 World Cup after failing to perform against Pakistan and New Zealand in the opening two matches in the UAE.

Australia will also tour India in 2023 for four matches Test series (Border Gavaskar Trophy) in February-March.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on 10th May