Australia squad for the 3rd test match against India, David Warner and Will Pucovski returns

Australia squad for the 3rd test match against India, David Warner and Will Pucovski returns.

Australia vs India 3rd Test Match: Star opener David Warner is all set to make his return in the third test against India after missing the first two. Young Will Pucovski has also recovered well and is named in the 18 men squad for the 3rd Test match.

Cricket Australia (CA) on Tuesday announced the strong 18-men squad for the Sydney Test. The game will begin on 07th January.

Warner who suffered a groin injury during the ODI series against India is now fit for the test games. He has been included in the squad while opener Joe Burns has been dropped by the selectors after his demonstration of his poor touch.

Burns who was the first-choice opener along with David Warner has not come out harder. Burns’s poor show in the Melbourne Test dropped him from the squad. The second test recorded a duck and a four from his bat.

Will Pucovski who was concussed during the practice game against India A is also recovered and called for the third test. Pucovski as reported recovered from his ninth concussion and Cricket Australia is taking protective steps for him.

Burns will return to Brisbane Heat:

Opener Joe Burns has been excluded from the side for the third test and will return to Brisbane Heat for the Big Bash League Tournament,” selector Trevor Hohns said in a media release.

Unfortunately we haven’t witnessed what we expected and what he is capable of in the recent games against India,” Hohns commenting on Joe Burns’s performance.

National selector Hohns told that David Warner will receive every bit of chance to be a part of the final eleven for the Sydney Test. He has made commendable progress to his injury.

Pucovski is also fine now, he has been in the final stages of return to play protocols and has been asymptomatic for the past few days,” he added.

He will be fit to play in Sydney subject to completing the return to play protocols and an independent assessment.”

Sean Abbott who sustained a calf niggle is also called for the third Sydney Test against India.

Australia Squad for 3rd Test: 

David Warner, Steve Smith, Tim Paine (c), Will Pucovski, Pat Cummins, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade.

ALSO READ: West Indies Jason Holder along with 9 other cricketers to miss Bangladesh’s tour due to Covid-19 related issues
New Zealand vs Pakistan: Kyle Jamieson fined for breaching ICC Code of Conduct