IPL 2024

Sunrises Hyderabad (SRH) on Monday (4th March) announced the new captain for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Australian Test skipper Pat Cummins will be leading the Orange Army in the upcoming edition of the league, set to begin on 22nd March. 

Pat Cummins will be replacing Aiden Markram as the captain of the team in the IPL 2024. The South African was appointed captain of the team last year but he couldn’t bring the results that management would’ve wanted. Under him SRH finished 10th on the table. 

Pat Cummins was brought by the SRH management for INR 20.5 crore in the IPL 2024 Auction. He became the second-costliest buy in the history of the league. The fast bowler has been sensational as a skipper of the Australian team and SRH would want him to take their team to glory as well in IPL 2024.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Huge Blow for CSK as THIS Crucial Player Ruled Out Of Phase 1 Of IPL 2024

Pat Cummins in 2023 achieved everything a cricket player wishes for. He led Australia to two ICC titles in World Test Championship final and World Cup. His leadership was one of the main highlights and it also saw him winning ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023. 

The franchise confirmed the development on their social media account and stated: “#OrangeArmy! Our new skipper Pat Cummins #IPL2024.”

Pat Cummins will be having an additional responsibility this season as he will have to lead the bowling attack as well as captain the team. He will be working with SRH head coach Daniel Vettori, who is the assistant coach of the Australia men’s cricket team.

Sunrisers Hyderabad will open their campaign in the IPL 2024 against Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata on March 23.

Here’s the SRH squad for the IPL 2024 

Pat Cummins (C), Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Tanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan. 

List of Captains in IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Tickets: A Guide on When and How to Book Tata IPL 2024 Tickets Online
Image: IPL

Here’s the list of captains in IPL 2024 

CSK – MS Dhoni.
MI – Hardik Pandya.
RCB – Faf Du Plessis.
DC – Rishabh Pant.
SRH – Pat Cummins.
KKR – Shreyas Iyer.
RR – Sanju Samson.
GT – Shubman Gill.
PBKS – Shikhar Dhawan.
LSG – KL Rahul.