Afghanistan beat England by 69 runs, Check the updated ODI World Cup 2023 Points Table
Pic Credit: Twitter, ICC

England vs Afghanistan: The 13th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 was played between England and Afghanistan at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Afghanistan surprised everyone by defeating England in the 13th match played. England is one of the strong contenders for the ODI World Cup 2023, so the defeat by Afghanistan is a matter of concern for the defending champions.

Match Details

Tournament: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Match: ENG vs AFG, 13th Match

Date: Sunday, October 15, 2023

Toss: England won the toss and opt to bowl

Time: 2:00 PM

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Afghanistan has caused the first upset of the ODI World Cup 2023 by defeating defending champions England at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi today. The hero of Afghanistan’s victory was their spin bowlers, who all-out Jos Buttler and Company for just 215 runs in 40.3 overs and achieved a victory of 69 runs. This is Afghanistan’s first win in this tournament; before this, Afghanistan had to face defeats against Bangladesh and England.

Afghansitan 1
Afghanistan | Pic: Twitter, ICC

This afternoon, England captain Jos Buttler won the toss and decided to bowl first. In reply, Afghanistan scored 284 runs for the loss of ten wickets in 49.5 overs. On behalf of the team, opener batsman Rahmanullah Gurbaz played a brilliant inning of 80 runs in 57 balls with the help of eight fours and four sixes, and wicketkeeper batsman Ikram Alikhil scored 58 runs.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Rashid Khan both took three wickets for Afghanistan. Mohammad Nabi, took two wickets. Naveen Ul Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqui each took one wicket.

England Batting Highlight

Chasing the target of 285 runs, the entire English team was limited to only 215 runs in 40.3 overs. Harry Brook scored the most runs for the team. He scored 66 runs in 61 balls. While David Malan scored 32 runs. Apart from these, no batsman could score more than 30 runs.

1st wicket: Jonny Bairstow (2), Wicket: Fazalhaq Farooqui
2nd wicket: Joe Root (11), Wicket: Mujeeb ur Rahman
3rd wicket: David Malan (32), Wicket: Mohammad Nabi
4th wicket: Jos Buttler (9), Wicket: Naveen Ul Haq
5th wicket: Liam Livingstone (10), Wicket: Rashid Khan
6th wicket: Sam Curran (10), Wicket: Mohammad Nabi
7th wicket: Chris Woakes (9), Wicket: Mujeeb ur Rahman
8th wicket: Harry Brook (66), Wicket: Mujeeb ur Rahman
9th wicket: Adil Rashid (20), Wicket: Rashid Khan
10th wicket: Mark Wood (18), Wicket: Rashid Khan

Down below, Check the updated ODI World Cup 2023 Points Table

Updated ODI World Cup 2023 Points Table

New Zealand330006+1.604
South Africa220004+2.360
Sri Lanka202000-1.161

Read: Dasun Shanaka Ruled Out of World Cup 2023

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates.