Yuvraj Singh practicing for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21

Yuvraj Singh practicing for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21.

Yuvraj Singh: The former Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh likely to feature in Punjab’s SMAT squad. The chances of Yuvraj Singh stepping into competitive cricket got increased after Punjab included his name in the list of probable 30 players who can take part in SMAT 2021.

The swashbuckling all-rounder had confirmed his retirement from all forms of cricket last year. However, Punjab Cricket Association asked him to play for them and Singh assured his presence.

The southpaw was seen practicing in nets at Punjab Cricket Academy soon after he turned 39. He shared his training video on his Instagram.

We are still waiting for the response:

However, there is no clarity for him to be a part of the game. “We are still waiting for BCCI’s response,” PCA secretary Puneet Bali.

The former Indian left-handed batsman also took part in the Global T20 League held in Canada after receiving NOC from BCCI. The Indian Cricket Board does not allow active players to take part in foreign leagues.

Bandar Sarn is another noticeable inclusion by Punjab Cricket Association along with Yuvraj Singh. The speedster had moved to Chandigarh last year after he was left out from the Punjab Squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be the beginning of the domestic circuit after the Pandemic. The opener of SMAT will be played on 10th January.

However, the decision for Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy is not yet taken by the board.

Punjab probable Players for SMAT: 

Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Abhishek Sharma, Salil Arora, Gitansh Khera, Ramandeep Singh, Sanvir Singh, Karan Kaila, Rahul Sharma, Krishan Alang, Sandeep Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, Ikjot Singh, Naman Dhir, Abhishek Gupta, Himanshu Satyawan, Gurkeerat Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Prabhsimran Singh, Nehal Wadhera, Anmol Malhotra, Aarush Sabharwal, Abhinav Sharma, Harpreet Brar, Mayank Arkande, Baltej Singh, Siddharth Kaul, Barinder Sarn, Gurnoor Singh, Harjas, Abhijit Garg, Kunwar Pathak.

ALSO READ: Best T20I XI of the Decade by Aakash Chopra, MS Dhoni and ABD out
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2021 Dates Revealed, SMAT 2021 Fixtures and Dates