WTC Final: How can team India Qualify for World Test Championship 2021-23 Final? World Test Championship Points Table
World Test Championship Points Table

WTC Final: How can team India Qualify for World Test Championship Final?: The World Test Championship has taken another turn as the host India appears too good for visitors Australia on a turning surface. Australia suffered a significant innings defeat in the first Test at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur, further solidifying Team India’s position in the ICC World Test Championship Points Table (WTC final). The Rohit Sharma-led team hammered Australia by an inning and 132 runs to seize the 1-0 lead in the four-match series.

Australia won the coin toss at the beginning, and that was all they won. India was completely in control of the Test and did not really meet any resistance from the foreign team as they easily won the match in three days. Australia’s second innings was bundled up in just a post-lunch session.

DON’T MISS: Jadeja Penalised for breaching ICC Code of Conduct in the 1st test India vs Australia.

Australia’s quest to confirm a seat in the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 Final has been further stretched as a result of India’s innings victory in the first Test in Nagpur. India won the first of four home Tests against Australia making a significant step in securing their place in the ICC World Test Championship 2021–23 Final.

WTC Final: World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table

POSTeamPCT (%)PointsWinsLossesDrawSeriesPEN
3SRI LANKA53.336454150
4SOUTH AFRICA48.727666150
6WEST INDIES40.91544525-2
8NEW ZEALAND27.273626350

WTC Final: Qualification Scenario

India has progressed towards a second straight World Tennis Championship final owing to their victory over Australia in the first Test. The runners-up from the first edition need two more victories from the remaining three Test matches against Australia in order to secure themselves minimum total points of 62.50%, which would eliminate Sri Lanka, who are currently in third position, from the championship.

India’s victory also eliminated England and the West Indies from the race for the final, leaving just Sri Lanka and South Africa, who are ranked third and fourth in the points table, to remain in the hunt. If India lose each of the next three Tests or loss any other possible combination of results, they will be redirected to rely on the outcomes of New Zealand vs. Sri Lanka series.

On the other side, Australia is still the favorite to be the first team to secure a spot in the WTC final, despite their loss to India in the first Test. Even if they lost all four Test matches, they would still wrap up the cycle with a percentage of 59.64%, assuming no points were lost due to the over-rate penalty. At that point, they would be relying on the outcome of the two-match series between third-placed Sri Lanka and New Zealand, which begins the following week.

READ: IPL 2023: CSK’s MS Dhoni confirmed to retire after IPL 2023 – Reports

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.