Unfair Umpiring? Pakistan Fans Accuse ICC After Muneeba Ali’s Dismissal Against India
The Women’s ODI World Cup 2025 class between India Women’s National Cricket Team and Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team was not just an intense cricket match, it set off a social media storm after Pakistan’s opener Muneeba Ali was controversially run out during the chase in Colombo. Pakistan Fans started blaming “unfair umpiring” and accusing the ICC of siding with India.
However, India Women defeated Pakistan in the 6th match of the Women’s ODI World Cup 2025 by 88 runs at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka. The Player of the match was Kranti Goud for her fantastic spell as she got three wickets and leaked only 20 runs. The Indian Team played superb cricket against Pakistan and defeated them 12th consecutive time in ODIs.
What Happened During Muneeba Ali’s Dismissal?
The drama unfolded in the 4th over of Pakistan’s run chase. India’s star bowler, Kranti Goud, bowled to Muneeba Ali and appealed for LBW, but the on-field umpire turned it down. As the game resumed, Deepti Sharma picked the ball and threw directly at the striker’s end. Muneeba was thinking the ball wasn’t in play, and she was outside her crease.
As you can see in the video, she had grounded her bat inside the crease but then lifted it again. At the moment, Deepti’s throw hit the stumps while Muneeba’s bat and feet were in the air. Initially, the third umpire gave her “not out”. But, after another review, the decision was reversed and Muneeba was given out.
On Social media, Pakistani fans started accusing ICC, but the reply clearly showed that when the bails were dislodged, Muneeba Ali was not in contact with the ground or inside the crease. So, she was given out after the review taken by India.
What do the Cricket Laws Say?
According to MCC Law 30.1.2, “A batter is considered safe as long as any part of the bat or body is grounded behind the popping crease. However, if a batter is running or diving back and loses contact with the ground, she won’t be given out, provided momentum toward the ground causes the loss of contact.”
Since Muneeba was simply stepping back and not running or diving, the law was applied strictly. Her bat and feet were both in the air at the moment stumps were hit, meaning she was not on her ground, and despite it, she was inside the ground. The thing that matters in this case is the moment when the ball hits the stumps.
You May Like This: SHOCKING!! Virat and Rohit’s LAST Series? Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar Reveals Truth on Future Beyond Australia ODIs