CSK beat RCB in the Opening Game by 6 wickets | Check the Points Table of TATA IPL 2024
MS Dhoni

CSK vs RCB: The 17th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) got started off on a thrilling note as the opening game was a Southern derby between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. This was also the first match of Ruturaj Gaikwad as a captain in the IPL and he ended the game with a smile as Chennai defeated the Faf Du Plessis-led RCB by six wickets.

CSK vs RCB Match Highlights

Faf Du Plessis won the toss and instantly chose to bat first, as he wanted to set a challenging total against the home side. The RCB skipper walked out to the crease with a positive mindset and tried to set the tone of the game at the ground where he has played the majority of his IPL career matches. He smashed eight fours during his knock of 35 runs in 23 deliveries in the first six overs. Faf went berserk in the second over of Deepak Chahar as he smashed 17 runs against him.

The RCB skipper didn’t spare Tushar Deshpande either, but then new CSK skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad introduced new signing Mustafizur Rahman into the attack and his introduction completely changed the complexion of the CSK RCB match. Faf tried to go after the Fiz as well but he was caught at sweeper cover and the Bangladeshi seamer also sent Rajat Patidar (0 runs in 3 balls) back to the Pavillion for a three-ball duck.

Deepak Chahar dismissed Glenn Maxwell for a first ball duck, which turned the game in the favour of CSK as Bengaluru lost their top three in the first six overs. Virat Kohli tried to revive the RCB innings with Cameron Green

Maheesh Theekshana and Ravindra Jadeja kept the duo under check and eventually Kohli was dismissed by the Fizz just when he got his eye in.

Mustifizur got the better of Cameron Green as well, and RCB were left in a really difficult spot with a score of 76-5. Then the duo of Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Karthik steadied the sinking ship of RCB as they stitched a 90-run stand, which allowed RCB to post a decent total of 173 runs on the board.

Tushar Desphande was hammered for 25 runs in the 18th over by the duo of Anuj and Karthik, but the former got dismissed on the final ball of the inning for 48 runs in search of an extra run. DK played a brilliant knock of 38 runs in 25 balls, and their partnership took RCB to 173-6 in their 20 overs.

It turned out to be an easy chase for CSK despite facing some issues in the middle overs. Jadeja played a good knock of 25 runs in 17 balls, which steadied the ship of CSK as the RCB bowlers were troubling the CSK middle order with a plethora of short-pitched deliveries. Jadeja and Shivam Dube ensured that CSK chased down the target of 174 runs without any issues in the 19th over.

The RCB bowlers had to get some early wickets if they wanted to stay alive in the game. Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad walked out to open the innings for Chennai with Rachin Ravindra and both of them looked in good form but it was Rachin who made a statement in his debut IPL game. He hammered the RCB bowlers to all parts of the ground while Ruturaj struggled against the swing movement of Yash Dayal.

CSK vs RCB IPL 2024
Chennai Super Kings | Pic: X (CSK)

Ajinkya Rahane continued from where he left in the previous season as he played a good knock of 27 runs in 19 balls which included two sixes. Daryl Mitchell also played a good cameo of 22 runs before Cameron Green dismissed him with the short ball tactic.

Post the dismissal of Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube came in as an impact substitute but struggled against the short pitched balls of the RCB bowling unit. With four batters back in the Pavillion, RCB could have sealed the game but Jadeja had some other plans and ensured that CSK chased the target without losing any more wickets.

CSK vs RCB Match Details

  • Match: CSK vs RCB, 1st Match, Indian Premier League 2024
  • Date: Friday, March 22, 2024
  • Toss: RCB won the toss and opted to bat
  • Time: 8:00 PM
  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Match Result: CSK Won by 6 Wickets

CSK vs RCB: Playing 11

CSK Playing 11: Rachin Ravindra, Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi , MS Dhoni (wk), Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman and Tushar Deshpande

RCB Playing 11: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat (wk), Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar and Mohammed Siraj

Points Table of TATA IPL 2024

In the opening match of TATA IPL 2024, Chennai defeated Bangalore and is at the first position in the points table with two points.

1Chennai Super Kings11+0.7792
2Royal Challengers Bangalore11-0.7790
3Gujarat Titans
4Kolkata Knight Riders
5Lucknow Super Giants
6Mumbai Indians
7Punjab Kings
8Rajasthan Royals
9Delhi Capitals
10Sunrisers Hyderabad

Read: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Dream11 Team

For More updates, Visit the official site of IPL-2024