Team India’s ODI and T20I squad for West Indies series announced
PTI Photo

Team India’s ODI and T20I squad for West Indies series announced: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), late on Wednesday, announced India’s strong ODI and T20I squad for the home series against West Indies. The selection was done following a marathon meeting by the Chetan Sharma-led panel on Wednesday.

In enthralling news, captain Rohit Sharma is back into the squad after proving his comprehensive fitness. He will lead the Indian side in both ODIs and T20Is. Meanwhile, KL Rahul will be his deputy.

For the fans, Virat Kohli is also available for selection. The duo of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will be seen together for the first time in the field of cricket after the captaincy controversy took over.

The selectors have mulled to bring back the pair of Kuldeep and Chahal in the white-ball format. Spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been named in India’s ODI squad. 

Young wrist spinner Ravi Bishnoi has received his maiden callup in both ODI and T20I squads of team India against West Indies. In wake of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, the Indian selectors want to test a few things before it’s too late.

Ace pacer Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been given rest in order to manage their workload. Both the pacers were highly active in the tour of South Africa. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is yet not fit for the selection. Meanwhile, Axar Patel will be available for the T20I series, informed the BCCI.

Post a dismal show in South Africa ODIs, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has got an axe from India’s ODI squad. He went wicketless in the two matches he featured and conceded a lot of runs. Though he is available for the T20Is.

ALSO READ: These 3 Star Players of Team India are set to return from injury in West Indies ODI series

Ravichandran Ashwin is also not named in any of the Indian squad for the home series against West Indies due to his share of injuries. The reports claim that Ashwin will be away from cricket for three months.

Down below is India’s ODI and T20I squad for the home series against West Indies.

India’s ODI Squad against West Indies:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shikhar,  D Chahar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shardul Thakur, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda, Ravi Bishnoi, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

India’s T20I Squad against West Indies:

Rohit Sharma(C), Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (vc), Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar,  Mohd. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra ChahalHarshal Patel

ALSO READ: TATA IPL 2022: Updated Squad list for all 10 Teams and Strategy for Mega Auctions