Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeCricket NewsTeam India...

Team India batter Virat Kohli wins BIG Award in ICC annual award list | ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 | ICC Awards 2023 List


ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023: Team India batter Virat Kohli, on Thursday, added another feather to his already decorated cap as he was adjudged as the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023. Kohli’s glorious form with the bat and exceptional fielding skills in the year 2023 landed him at the spot higher than any other batter in the world.

The Apex Cricket Body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), announced the annual list of winners of the annual top ICC awards for the year 2023. Along with Virat Kohli, Australian opener Usman Khawaja bagged the title of the Test Cricketer of the Year while Australian captain Pat Cummins won the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy.

After a massive dip in his free-flowing run-scoring form, Virat Kohli regained his touch late in 2022 and the veteran batter did well to extend the golden form to 2023.

Throughout the year, Kohli culminated 1377 runs in 27 ODI outings along with a wicket and 12 catches. Of 1377 runs, notched up 765 runs alone in the ODI World Cup 2023. He became the highest run-getter in the World Cup and bagged the title of player of the tournament.

Besides scoring 1377 runs, Virat Kohli also touched the milestone of 50 ODI tons surpassing the legendary Sachin Tendulkar during the World Cup in India. With the half-century of centuries, Virat Kohli became the leading player in that elite list. The second best to Virat Kohli is his compatriot Rohit Sharma with 31 hundreds among the active players.

His 765 runs in the ODI World Cup came at an average of 95.62 and the batter maintained a brilliant strike rate of 90.31 throughout the tournament.

His most memorable show came during the India vs New Zealand semi-final match at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Not only did Virat Kohli score a ton, but also rescued the Indian team from yet another debacle against the Kiwis in the ICC knockouts. He along with Shreyas Iyer stitched a partnership which paved the way for India’s brilliant 397 runs total.

As he completed his 50th century, the batter went through a roller-coaster of emotions as he bowed down to the ‘God of Cricket’ who was present in the stand during Kohli’s one of the most significant milestones. The stand also endured the presence of Virat Kohli’s better-half Anushka Sharma.

“It’s stuff of dreams, Anushka was sitting right there, Sachin paaji was there in the stands,” Kohli said later while being interviewed during the innings break.

Kohli pipped the likes of Mohammad Shami, Shubman Gill and New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell to get crowned the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023.

ICC Awards 2023 List

Men’s Cricketer of the YearPat CumminsAustralia
Men’s ODI Cricketer of the YearVirat KohliIndia
Men’s Test Cricketer of the YearUsman KhawajaAustralia
Women’s Cricketer of the YeraNat Sciver BruntEngland
Women’s ODI Cricketer of the YearChamari AthapaththuSri Lanka
Men’s Associate Cricketer of the YearBas de LeedeNetherlands
Women’s Associate Cricketer of the YearQueentor AbelKenya
Men’s T20I Cricketer of the YeraSuryakumar YadavIndia
Women’s T20I Cricketer of the YearHayley MatthewsWest Indies
Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the YearRachin RavindraNew Zealand
Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the YearPhoebe LitchfieldAustralia
Umpire of the YearRichard IllingworthEngland
*Every ICC Award 2023.

ALSO READ: IND vs ENG 1st Test 2024: Day 1 Stumps, England at 246/10 & India at 119/1, Bazball flops against Ashwin and Jadeja

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Bookmarked post
ICS News Desk
ICS News Desk
News Desk reports - ICC Cricket Schedule Team.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS